//
you're reading...
Life, Living and Loving

Writer’s Block

As much as I’ve been blogging, you’d think this is something I’d not suffer with – but I have been.  I haven’t been writing any erotica lately – I can usually turn out two or maybe three writings a week but the last time I started writing something, I got half-way through the story and two things happened; one, the computer I do my writing on started acting more insanely than it usually does and two, my train of thought got derailed – I just couldn’t think of where I wanted to go with the story.

Kama Sutra Illustration

Image via Wikipedia

Fortunately, the story survived the computer’s brain fart; I was thinking hard drive failure but it was really the motherboard quitting on me.  Lately, I’ve been writing stories centered around the swinging lifestyle and I’ve even shared some of them with my site members and the reviews have been good.  I think the stories have been insightful and quite lusty, if I may say so myself, casting a light on the lifestyle and then putting twists on it to create more, ah, realistic scenarios.

When I write erotica, I just don’t write stuff to jack off to; it’s nasty with a purpose and that is to “educate” readers about aspects of sex they might not otherwise think of.  I like to put my readers right into the minds of my characters so that they can see the sexual situation through the character, feel what he or she may be feeling, know what they’re thinking.  For me, the challenge isn’t as much about putting A into B or C; it’s about capturing the moment and all the thoughts and feelings that might go with it.

I am, in fact, a published writer!  I’ve written several stories that publishers of erotica jumped all over and the pay wasn’t bad – but it wasn’t about the money more than it was the bit of visibility in the market I got.  Really kinda cool to pick up one of the magazines I was published in and see my name and knowing that people were reading my stuff and, yeah, probably whacking off to beat the band.

I haven’t published anything on the market lately and, at one point, I was going to start a project to self-publish the stuff I’ve written; however, I haven’t been able to figure out (yet) if what I’ve been writing can be published like that.  I get the sense that the self-publishing market ain’t quite ready for what I have to offer – but I could be wrong.

So, I brought up the last story I was working on and gave it a quick glance… and if I’m going to finish it, I’ll probably have to scrap maybe the last eight or ten pages of it because, as I remember, I wasn’t happy with the direction the story was going in.  It’s no big deal; it’s something I’ve done hundreds of times before either to sections of a story and, yeah, to entire stories.

But I’m at a rather odd impasse at the moment; I can think of all sorts of stuff to blog about and some of it could be seen as quite salacious… but I just can’t get my mind far enough in the gutter to get the one story finished and be able to write more and, for me, that’s unusual. I can blog but I can’t write and I find that a bit bothersome.

Usually when hit with a dose of writer’s block, it’s a “simple” matter of just relaxing my thoughts and letting them come up with something hot and juicy.  But this is like someone’s turned the heat down or something!  I do, in fact, think of stuff to write but since I require my writing to be in a certain form – and I don’t want to wind up writing too many similar stories – things keep being rejected.  I’ll have a “what if” moment and think, “Yeah, this would be good!  Oh, wait, no it wouldn’t…”

I want to write about the stuff people don’t want to talk about but I want to do it intelligently.  I want and need it to be real and then so much that a reader will come back and ask me, “Did this really happen?”

I’ll never tell…

The sex has to be real, right along with the aches and pains, thoughts, and other feelings, like what runs through a character’s mind at the moment of orgasm.  It’s a challenge to try to capture such things with words because we all know what it feels like – and can’t say much more than, “It felt good!”

The situations have to be real or plausible enough for a reader to say, “Yeah, it could happen like that…”  Even when a story line takes what might be an unrealistic path, the thought here is to illustrate that, as humans, we can get ourselves into a lot of shit that, normally, we’d probably never get into – and all for the purpose of getting our rocks off.

In my stories, I’ve ruined marriages or have changed them in ways some people wouldn’t dream of being possible.  I’ve awakened hidden desires of the flesh as well as made them go away.  I’ve made my characters see and understand things about themselves and their partners, some good, some not so good; I have sent them deep inside their own heads to figure out how or why they got to wherever it was I put them.  I’ve put my characters through every range of emotion I can think of; I’ve fucked with their logic, intelligence, and even their common sense to illustrate just how the need to get laid can unhinge someone… or make them see the light of day, as it were.

Personally, I think I’m rather good at it but I know I can do it better which is probably why I’ve got a bad case of writer’s block for this.  I say to the people who might comment on my writings that if you read this and have to, um, handle some immediate business, then I got it right.  If it makes you think or maybe rethink sex in your life, kudos to me.  Hell, if I turn myself on while writing, damn, it must be pretty good!

I will go back and re-read something I wrote and if I do this and ask, “Wow, did I write this?” then I know I’m on the right path.  My harshest critic and editor, Linda, will scrutinize everything, point out any errors I made or missed and question what the characters are doing or thinking.  Her input is fantastic and my recent stories have benefited greatly from her critical eye.

The writer’s block will eventually clear up, as it always does, and everything will be okay.  I just might get the unfinished story finished but, until then, I can blog until the cows come home – and I hope they never really do.

About kdaddy23

Not really sure what to say; there's a lot about me that can be said but the basic thing is that I'm just a guy with a lot of things on my mind that I need to get said. I have to add that if you're not old enough to deal with adult issues or you find them offensive, you might want to stay out of my head...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 24,657 hits

It’s About What’s In My Head

Blogger of Virtue Award

Liebster Award

Versatile Blogger Award

The Sexy Blogger Award

Sensual Blogger Award

One Lovely Blog

Very Inspiring Blog Award

Adult Blog Hub

Sex Blog Directory
bisou bi bisou

Bisexual Bible: Setting it straight the gay way

So the world be

Just some general musings from a bisexual woman about life, sexuality, and everything in between

Versatility

Art. Film. Gluten-Free. History. Design. Bisexuality.

CENTER FOR CULTURE SEXUALITY and SPIRITUALITY

liberating the ways people love, experience the Erotic, and connect to the Sacred

She Is NSFW

One Woman's Late-Blooming Sexual Journey

Wet Bliss

Mature Content 18+ Adults Only...........................Beautiful Loving Intense Sexual Sensations

savefilecorruption

and I'm ragequitting

Life of Bi

This blog is about my life, and what is happening.

nolafeminizer

A young feminist lost in New Orleans

bicuriousbynature's Blog

Just Curious; In Every Sense Of The Word

deeplydaisy

The Story of a Stillbirth

Talking About Hemp

Mankind deserves this incredible resource...

QatQi

Immerse yourself in the most unique word gaming experience on the AppStore.

dancetinyfox

a blog about pole dancing & other foxy fun!

jenisindc

Documenting One Adventure At A Time

Katie Laid Bare

The thoughts and feelings of a highly sexed young woman, laid out on display

MarriageCoach1

This blog is about marriage, relationships and sexuality and how you can do it better

A Dissolute Life Means...

Indifferent to moral restraints; given to immoral or improper conduct; licentious; dissipated :: Synonyms: corrupt, loose, debauched, wanton, abandoned.

Own It All

My thoughts on things as I see them.

Speaking Out on Life

Games, Food, With A Slice of Life

Brett Cadieux's WordPress Blog.

I hope you know what you're getting yourself into!

anitrafigueroa

Polyamory, Parenting, and Life As I Know It

Providing You With Information To Bring Out UR Inner Freak

Mother Of Dragon Fruits

Life, Art, Sex, & Nonsense.

The Curious Alouette!

The socially awkward musings of an English-French bilingual college girl.

24years1closet

Trying to be out without coming out

Shanshan

Love, sex and rock'n'roll

Hallsofthemind

Exploring ideas and topics of the day.

Ritual of Desecration

Desecration: the act of depriving something of its sacred character, or the disrespectful or contemptuous treatment of that which is held to be sacred or holy

Love, Lust and Everything in Between

My take on LOVE LUST and all the other shit that happens during relationships and dating. With the occasional pop culture post of television review.

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Shades of Teal

not quite blue, not really green, with just a touch of turquoise

A Hat Full of Ness

Because I Have Words. On academia, gender equality and mental health.

seasideslutdiary

Mischief, musings and true tales

yummyrotica

smut. grit. art. lit.

LGBT Activist. Feminist. Disabled.

The words of one woman.

Apparently I Don't Exist

The Many Adventures of a Bisexual Genderqueer

'Tis Personal

“'Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” Alfred Lord Tennyson

Janes Illustrated Erotic Sex Blog

A sex blog by a former prostitute (Adult site 18 and older only)

Assentively Yours

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

BiWifeLife and The BiWivesClub

A Place For Married Bisexual Women

ariadnenaxos

An Open (Love) Letter to My Husband

Adventures in Bisexuality

You'll think I'm hilarious no matter where you like to put your parts.

EroticZeitgeist

A blog about the modern relationship and the role of sex

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

