//
you're reading...
Life, Living and Loving

Whoa… Creepy is Okay Now?

http://www.technolog.msnbc.msn.com/technology/technolog/how-facebook-makes-creepy-behavior-normal-855542

I’m not sure what to make of this article; in fact, I actually had to find out what a “panopticon prison scenario” was before I could understand just what the article was about.  So, one of my new pet peeves is people getting on Facebook and putting their entire lives out there for all to see, several times a day, every day.  I dunno… maybe because I understand how Facebook links people together but if I know I can type something in my status and all 800+ friends I have can see it (because of my security settings), then, duh, I’m not going to say anything in that forum that I don’t want people to see.

The concept of the panopticon prison system was developed way back in the day as a way for prisoners to be watched without knowing they were being watched; I guess it didn’t work out because even if the prisoners didn’t know when they were being watched, it could easily be assumed that they were and, as such, modify their behavior accordingly.

Likewise with Facebook, then; even if you think you’re not being watched in some way on Facebook, you can easily assume that someone might be scoping you out and you modify your behavior, oh, like not talking about your baby-mama-drama, for instance.

It’s kinda weird because people talk about some of the damnedest things on Facebook and there aren’t too many days when I’m on Facebook and I’ll see someone say something that, even as bold as I am, makes me say, “I wouldn’t have done that…”

Because, yeah, whether you know it or not, you are being watched.  Now, if that creeps you out, here’s a possible solution:  Don’t use Facebook.  Simple, huh?

Speaking of the devil, I need to check out my ranch…

About kdaddy23

Not really sure what to say; there's a lot about me that can be said but the basic thing is that I'm just a guy with a lot of things on my mind that I need to get said. I have to add that if you're not old enough to deal with adult issues or you find them offensive, you might want to stay out of my head...

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Whoa… Creepy is Okay Now?

  1. I remember reading an excerpt from Michel Fouccault about a panopticon prison. Today that’s translated into hidden cams, cctv and phone cams. And there’s YouTube as the distributor of such content. I’ve blocked status updates of people on FB who “overshare” … especially those who post pics of food that look like afterbirth. Oh well that’s technology …

    Like

    Posted by Lafemmeroar | 2 July 2012, 12:34
    • Oh, you’ve seen those food posts, too? Some of those people would benefit from attending the CIA or FCI so they can (a) learn how to cook and (b) how to present food…

      Like

      Posted by kdaddy23 | 2 July 2012, 14:00
      • Yup I have seen those food posts … it used to ruin my day until I blocked em out. Your post has actually inspired my next post :)

        Like

        Posted by Lafemmeroar | 2 July 2012, 16:08
  2. Lmao, believe it or not my Facebook doesn’t generally include private things…unless its acknowledging someone’s passing…damn, I’ve had two of those since last Wednesday…

    Like

    Posted by A Bi-Submissive's Journey in the Vanilla World | 2 July 2012, 17:28
  3. My boss used to facebook defendant’s on a file and the clients too and advise them as to how to handle facebook postings and stuff and to just check them out. I do funny status’ pictures and other stuff but my business where I need to talk is done via email and/or my blog over there. I guess with blogging it’s a different type of world of anonymity but … still. :)

    Like

    Posted by MysteryCoach | 2 July 2012, 20:01
    • I maintain that if there’s some shit you don’t want people knowing about you, don’t ever put it on Facebook because you just don’t know who might be scoping you out… or why they are. We’ve read or heard where people have lost their jobs because of things they’ve said on Facebook; I’m sure LEOs troll Facebook looking for people they have warrants for; lawyers can probably find information that can be used against someone in court the same way.

      Oh, yeah, folks like pedophiles, burglars, and even rapists are out there trolling, looking for victims; if you know this – and one can reasonably assume this – why would you even allow it when, after they got their asses handed to them about it, Facebook made it possible for only the people you want to see you to see you – duh!

      Like

      Posted by kdaddy23 | 2 July 2012, 23:18
  4. Well, that’s a new term to me. I don’t have so much going on that people would be interested in know about it on FB. I don’t think anybody does, for that matter, or else they wouldn’t have time to post. I think they need counseling.

    Like

    Posted by totsymae1011 | 3 July 2012, 09:36
    • Agree Totsy! And what’s up with people on FB always checking in to places they go to? I’m sure some dumb clunk of a husband out there is wanky enough to check in at a massage parlor for a “happy ending.” But it won’t last long when his wifey finds out about it. That’s hypothetical of course, but in this crazy world I’m sure it’s happened …

      Like

      Posted by Lafemmeroar | 3 July 2012, 13:31
  5. I agree with you that there are many things people simply should NOT put on FB. I have a couple younger family members who do that very thing of telling every little, or big, very personal thing on FB statuses that EVERYONE can see. I have, on several occasions, told them to not do that because some things should be private but they do it anyhow. It drives me batshit when they put their entire lives up on FB for God and everyone to see. Usually they say that they do not care who sees the stuff then cannot understand why things happen as they do afterward. An example is one niece who had her kids taken from her, and my brother and sis in law given temporary custody–this niece was posting stuff on her page every other day about her and her hubby having knock-down drag-out fights, and partying like rockstars and her cussing like a sailor to tell about it. Then she couldn’t understand why my brother got full custody till the kids are both 18! So, um yeah, some stuff should not be posted on FB.

    As for who may be trolling us, that is another thing that people do not seem to understand-the privacy is not as private as we may think. I found out awhile back that my ex was trolling my page, which didn’t make me upset but I was not thrilled about it either.

    Remember I told you that another particular person knew what all I had been up to as well, and what I liked, etc. At the time this person had made mention of my cats, flower garden and other plants, photography, music, cooking etc., I had no idea how this person knew as I didn’t find a FB profile till later down the line. It didn’t bother me that he had been trolling my page as I know he is harmless but it was just kind of weirdly flattering, if you know what I mean.

    So yeah, unless we are set to total privacy then anyone can see what is what with us. But I also know that with FB, even with the privacy settings, it’s not near as private as we are led to believe.

    As for sex offenders etc being on FB, you can bet they are. This is why I worry about underage kids having FB pages. Thankfully some parents are smart enough to not allow the kids to be on FB without total supervision. But I do wish FB had a privacy setting that would allow for our underage kids to be on grandma’s page, with mom & dad’s control, and not be seen by those who are not family or school friends. By this I mean that if I Google one of the underage kids their pic will show up on the search as a FB member and I think the pic should not be allowed to show up unless it’s on the friends. In other words, all underage kids’ pics should be automatically private. I just somehow feel kids would be safer that way.

    As for burglars etc, I would not be at all surprised if someone has been robbed by posting their status about being away for the weekend…This is part of why I generally do not post such statuses. If I am going to be away I will email or use the chat-box to let family and close friends know, or just call them. You are correct that posting everything, and that check in crap, just makes it easier for bad people to do bad things.

    Like

    Posted by redwinenroses | 6 September 2012, 10:59

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Privacy and My Private Parts « Lafemmeroar - 3 July 2012

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 24,647 hits

It’s About What’s In My Head

Blogger of Virtue Award

Liebster Award

Versatile Blogger Award

The Sexy Blogger Award

Sensual Blogger Award

One Lovely Blog

Very Inspiring Blog Award

Adult Blog Hub

Sex Blog Directory
bisou bi bisou

Bisexual Bible: Setting it straight the gay way

So the world be

Just some general musings from a bisexual woman about life, sexuality, and everything in between

Versatility

Art. Film. Gluten-Free. History. Design. Bisexuality.

CENTER FOR CULTURE SEXUALITY and SPIRITUALITY

liberating the ways people love, experience the Erotic, and connect to the Sacred

She Is NSFW

One Woman's Late-Blooming Sexual Journey

Wet Bliss

Mature Content 18+ Adults Only...........................Beautiful Loving Intense Sexual Sensations

savefilecorruption

and I'm ragequitting

Life of Bi

This blog is about my life, and what is happening.

nolafeminizer

A young feminist lost in New Orleans

bicuriousbynature's Blog

Just Curious; In Every Sense Of The Word

deeplydaisy

The Story of a Stillbirth

Talking About Hemp

Mankind deserves this incredible resource...

QatQi

Immerse yourself in the most unique word gaming experience on the AppStore.

dancetinyfox

a blog about pole dancing & other foxy fun!

jenisindc

Documenting One Adventure At A Time

Katie Laid Bare

The thoughts and feelings of a highly sexed young woman, laid out on display

MarriageCoach1

This blog is about marriage, relationships and sexuality and how you can do it better

A Dissolute Life Means...

Indifferent to moral restraints; given to immoral or improper conduct; licentious; dissipated :: Synonyms: corrupt, loose, debauched, wanton, abandoned.

Own It All

My thoughts on things as I see them.

Speaking Out on Life

Games, Food, With A Slice of Life

Brett Cadieux's WordPress Blog.

I hope you know what you're getting yourself into!

anitrafigueroa

Polyamory, Parenting, and Life As I Know It

Providing You With Information To Bring Out UR Inner Freak

Mother Of Dragon Fruits

Life, Art, Sex, & Nonsense.

The Curious Alouette!

The socially awkward musings of an English-French bilingual college girl.

24years1closet

Trying to be out without coming out

Shanshan

Love, sex and rock'n'roll

Hallsofthemind

Exploring ideas and topics of the day.

Ritual of Desecration

Desecration: the act of depriving something of its sacred character, or the disrespectful or contemptuous treatment of that which is held to be sacred or holy

Love, Lust and Everything in Between

My take on LOVE LUST and all the other shit that happens during relationships and dating. With the occasional pop culture post of television review.

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Shades of Teal

not quite blue, not really green, with just a touch of turquoise

A Hat Full of Ness

Because I Have Words. On academia, gender equality and mental health.

seasideslutdiary

Mischief, musings and true tales

yummyrotica

smut. grit. art. lit.

LGBT Activist. Feminist. Disabled.

The words of one woman.

Apparently I Don't Exist

The Many Adventures of a Bisexual Genderqueer

'Tis Personal

“'Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” Alfred Lord Tennyson

Janes Illustrated Erotic Sex Blog

A sex blog by a former prostitute (Adult site 18 and older only)

Assentively Yours

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

BiWifeLife and The BiWivesClub

A Place For Married Bisexual Women

ariadnenaxos

An Open (Love) Letter to My Husband

Adventures in Bisexuality

You'll think I'm hilarious no matter where you like to put your parts.

EroticZeitgeist

A blog about the modern relationship and the role of sex

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

