RSS

A Bit Weird

27 Jan

So, after rebooting my computer for the day, I crank up my browser so I can go do some Facebook stuff and just as I clicked on the link to Gourmet Ranch, I see something about Morgan Freeman and his step-granddaughter.

Normally, I don’t get into what celebrities do and often riff about how the media just makes a big deal of things they may do that, if there weren’t celebs, no one would ever pay attention to them.  Ah, but this one had me going, “He’s gonna do what?  With who?”

Okay, so if she’s got the word “step” before her other identifier – granddaughter – well, right away, there’s no blood relationship.  According to the Yahoo article I read – and I’m not including the link because it’s so long it makes the viewable blog look like shit – Morgan allegedly did the deed with this girl, his wife found out about it, and divorced him but, interestingly, the article not only points out the very wide gap in their ages – 45 years – but it also points out that if Morgan did hit that thang, she had to be 17 at the time.

It should be noted that this, um, alleged pending and creepy-feeling marriage is being reported by the National Enquire and, honestly, if that rag reported that the sun was gonna rise in the east, I’d probably not believe them.

Responses to the Yahoo article run along the same lines – just plain creepy in their eyes and I’ll even admit that on first glance, yeah, hmm, Morgan, what were you thinking about with this one?  I also saw a comment with the word “incest” in it – that’s enough to give most people the creeps right off the bat!  Then I shift into neutral, take a step back and apply some objectivity to this one, like what the law says about such things.

English: Human sexual intercourse

Image via Wikipedia

The article implies these two have been having a fling for ten years, again, making her 17 if, as reported, they had sex; the word “allegedly” plays big in this.  Without knowing where the alleged act occurred – and being familiar with the laws where I live, hmm, 17 puts her over the minimal age of consent, which is 16 but, well, at least here, legally it gets confusing only because LAOC (legal age of consent) here is 18 now but a 16 or 17 year old can consent to sex but we put some extra shit into the law that, once you figure it out, if he was 62 and she was 17, that’s more than the thirteen-year age difference so Morgan would have probably been arrested for unlawful sexual intercourse if he wasn’t who he is; our law says – in part – “The age of consent in Delaware is 18, but it is legal for teenagers aged 16 and 17 to engage in sexual intercourse as long as the older partner is younger than 30.”  So, hmm, if he really did this and happened to be in Delaware, homey would be waiting to explain this one to a judge because, according to our laws, he’s guilty of fourth degree rape – a Class C felony.

Then there’s the fact that she’s not related to him by blood so if, say, the law here would want to slap his hands for the age difference thing, eh, they might not say a whole lot about this part of the alleged act because, technically, they’re not related except by association.  If he was answering to a judge for the first thing, I’m sure that honorable person would bring this up and say a few words to him simply because this doesn’t look good. Indeed, I read the whole law about this for us here and because he was in a position of authority over her – he was raising her – well, hmm, put your hands behind your back, Mr. Freeman…

Morgan Freeman is a fine actor and probably has a whole room filled with all the accolades afforded him in this.  What we tend to do is to confuse his celebrity with him simply being another human being so that when such a person does something – or allegedly does something – we tend to either be shocked at it, take a dim view of it, other stuff like that.

However, depending on the prevailing law wherever this supposed sex act took place, did he really do something illegal or even immoral?  The article, such as it is, is sorely lacking the detail that such news about celebs tends to invoke, like, um, he’s got a date in a court somewhere to answer to the charges of fourth degree rape or something like that.  Certainly, it just doesn’t sound right, does it?  Kinda makes your blood run cold and you find yourself involuntarily shivering over this one?

While the laws differ from state to state, there’s one thing that’s consistent:  People who are directly related to each other aren’t allowed to have sex or marry and a step-anything doesn’t constitute a direct relationship by blood, although I do wonder if adoption plays into this in anyway; like, you legally adopted your new wife’s daughter, officially and legally making her your step-daughter… but she’s not really your daughter.  See, in this, there’s the spirit of the law… then there’s the letter of the law and I’m thinking they might not agree with each other where this particular thing is concerned.  But, as usual, I digress.

Does this freak you out in any way?  Do you read the article and just shrug, writing it off as either media hype or some other form of bullshit – or because you’re thinking, “Well, famous people are always doing insane shit  anyway…”  The Enquire has always been accused of questionable reporting; they’ve been sued by celebrities quite a bit for literally making shit up and reporting it as fact like, say, someone takes a picture of Beyonce, in a bikini, and standing with someone that ain’t her husband… and now they have her having an affair when, in truth, it’s a story based on some either coincidental picture – someone just happened to be standing next to her, all nice and innocent – or some clever photographic trickery.

At best, it makes anything they say questionable and I know I tend to automatically dismiss this stuff when I happen to see it while standing in line at the supermarket – there’s a reason why they put those things at the register, you know.  I’ve actually watched people flipping through it while waiting; me, I might see one and just roll my eyes and, yeah, had I saw this emblazoned all over the place when I was last in the market – a couple of days ago now,  I would have frowned, rolled my eyes until they hurt, and went right on about my business.

Unless he’s officially charged with a crime, did it happen?  If a reliable media source had reported this, say, CNN or NBC Nightly News, would it be taken as a matter of fact… even though there’s no evidence of him being arrested for what would most likely be a crime in a lot of states?  Which thing is the most “offensive;” the fact that he’s 45 years older than this woman or that he’s “related” to this person?

It did cross my mind that Morgan got into it with the media over some shit concerning the Tea Party a while back so maybe he’s really gotten the media’s attention and to the point where they’re digging up dirt on him because of his political views?  I recall Bill Cosby saying some shit that the media took great offense to – and they started digging up dirt on him like there was no tomorrow.

It makes this blogger wonder if the response to this “news” isn’t taking the legal implications into consideration before deeming this creepy – that seems to be a purely moral reaction, doesn’t it?  It also makes me wonder what makes the difference with people – morality or the cold, hard, and uncaring facts of law?  A comment in another article I saw on this – also of questionable sources – says that, okay, maybe he didn’t commit incest… but still!  What, if anything, is the real objection to this, provided it’s the real deal?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 27 January 2012 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

10 responses to “A Bit Weird

  1. Lafemmeroar

    27 January 2012 at 14:36

    I heard about that … he’s survived it though … and he does great voice over work. I gather the pic isn’t him and the chick 🙂

    Dude you post the most “amazing” pics!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      27 January 2012 at 14:39

      Well, no, the pic ain’t them… but since WP was kind enough to put it where I could see it, well, you know me by now, right? I saw it and thought, “Hmm, that’s a kinda nice picture!”

      Personally, if he’s not been accused of a crime, then he’s good to go and all people can do is not like it.

      Like

       
      • Lafemmeroar

        27 January 2012 at 15:34

        I think he just kind of glazed over the whole thing … I saw a few news bits and the next thing I see is that he’s still doing movies and giving out awards … Amazing how some celebrities can escape the “media” and others just can’t. Wish I had the answer to that.

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        27 January 2012 at 15:59

        See, to me, this is weird because if his wife supposedly divorced him because of this alleged sexual tryst, then how is it that if this was proved in the divorce documents – and I’d think it would have to be – um, how did he not get arrested… unless, of course, the laws are different in, say, California? I found this:

        “The age of consent in California is 18, with a misdemeanor if the minor has 3 or fewer years of difference with the major, and potentially a felony if the major is more than 3 years older. The close-in-age rule in California (3 years) do not provide an exception nor provide any defense; it merely lowers the crime to a misdemeanor. Under this law, two minors of the exact same age could both be prosecuted with a misdemeanor. Penalties increase if the minor is under 16 and the major is above 21 or if the minor is more than 3 years younger.”

        Why law is written like this is beyond me, by the way. Anyway, supposedly, she was 17 when he tapped the tuna so, legally, she was both a minor and below the LAOC and, if I understand this correctly, the part pertaining to it being a felony offense kinda comes into play, making me wonder just how someone glazes this over if the act is supposedly known to happen? I know here that you couldn’t even make a joke about something like this because if someone hears it, they can report it to the authorities and the next thing you know, you’re being investigated… by people you really don’t want all up in your personal business. Even if they discover it was just a joke, albeit one made in bad taste, it’s embarrassing.

        Then again, it could be just a matter of who you gonna believe – Morgan Freeman, accomplished and award-winning actor and one with the second coolest voice-over behind James Earl Jones… or the National Enquirer?

        Like

         
  2. Lafemmeroar

    27 January 2012 at 19:16

    If they were married in Cali it’s community property.

    As far as the age of the girl … not sure but if she denies it then what’s the issue right? In this actor’s case it’s decades of difference lmao! I wonder who taught who a thing or two .. the old wizened one of the hot young thing … either way it’s very “incestuous” then again I remember a famous director who married his step daughter. Wow talking about “hitting it” close to home.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      30 January 2012 at 16:12

      Thanks for chiming in, Lafemme! Yeah, it sounds incestuous because he did raise the girl… but legally – and this is what really matters – there’s no real relationship here that qualifies; this is one of those weird situations that looks bad, sounds bad, but is probably legal… unless, say, the state of California (if the sex happened there) wants to charge him with something if he did knock her boots when she was 17.

      To John, yeah, I liked the pic, too, and the bush was okay with me – I’ve seen a lot more hairier ones… but, sure, a bit of a trim would be in order! Now, robbing the cradle… it’s funny how we are about this! We’re quick to say that age is only a number and it shouldn’t matter… until something like this comes up and then it’s not as okay. The whole age thing, to me, isn’t as much about legality as it is about commonality, like, at 56, I can’t imagine how much I’d have in common with someone who’s 26 other than a sexual interest.

      Like

       
  3. marriagecoach1

    29 January 2012 at 15:32

    Even if she was 18 and technically legal, eeuw. Talk about robbing the cradle. I have daughters over 18.
    By the way, i enjoyed the pic. I love straight sex although personally I would have had to have trimmed that bush, a little too wooly for my tastes.

    Reminds me of my time in Germany. The girls back then did not shave their legs and pits. I had a German girlfriend and persuaded her to let me shave her. She got all excited afterwards and told her roomate about it and the roomate wanted me to shave her as well. By the time it was done, I had shaved 12 girls in the dorms all stripped down to panties and a robe. I knew what color panties each of them were wearing by the time I was done. For a guy with a panty fetish, this was heaven on earth to me.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John

    Like

     
  4. sunnydelyte21

    1 February 2012 at 11:41

    That’s crazy…I didn’t catch that headline. But then again I don’t follow tabloid mags..

    So he raised her and then started having sex with her…not a good look.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      2 February 2012 at 01:55

      Hiya, Sunny! I probably wouldn’t have seen it at all had I not noticed it on my MSN home page. And, you’re right – it just doesn’t look good at all, does it, kinda in-line with something I’ve become fond of saying: Perception hurts you more than the truth does. The truth, if there is one, is that what they’re doing is legal (depends on where it happened); the perception is that he’s committing incest.

      Like

       
      • sunnydelyte21

        2 February 2012 at 09:11

        Indeed….it really is.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Cannabis Joint

All the information you could possibly want..... coming soon!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

