RSS

A Mini Book Review

12 Sep

I’ve been reading Cairo’s “Man Swappers,” a book about identical triplet sisters – Porsha, Persia, and Paris, who reasoned that the best way to keep a man from cheating on any one of them is for the three of them to share him.

These are some bad-assed sisters.  As such books go, all three are highly educated, highly successful women, beautiful, incredibly over-sexed and insatiable, and are walking advertisements for every high-end brand name item you can think of.  They’re not without some drama, though; their poppa is a rolling stone (but they love him to death anyway) and their mother is a church-going, gossiping machine who despises the way her daughters roll where sex is concerned.  And there are the assorted friends and relatives that continues a deplorable stereotype that Black families really don’t know how to play nice with each other.

I’m not saying that Cairo didn’t pen an interesting book; it is chock-full of hot and steamy sex scenes.  The sisters are also known to their, ah, club members, as Passion, Pleasure, and Pain, although I’m well into the book and haven’t quite figured out who is who… but these women are straight up freaks, as are the men they gang up on.

Of course, all the men are devastatingly handsome, tall, dark, highly successful and financially well-off and, of course, they all have very big dicks; I think the guy who has the shortest dick (so far) is packing eight inches.  They all have amazing stamina and the word ‘refraction’ has no meaning for them; they can all bust hellacious nuts and go back to being fully erect in mere seconds.  And, yeah, one guy can fuck and satisfy all three women, hands down… and do so on a regular basis.

Now, this is where the book kinda gets my goat because along with what I’ll call the usual stereotypes – all of which makes me insane – here’s another one that makes me even crazier.  One of their, ah, members, loves to get pegged – this is when a woman straps on a dildo and fucks the guy in the ass.  Enter in the homophobia stereotype because (1) the girls think this dude is on the DL because he loves getting pegged and (2) when they ask him if he’s bi or on the DL, he goes absolutely ape-shit and proclaims – and really loud, too – that he doesn’t roll like that and that there’s nothing another dude can do for him.

Hmm, where have I heard that one before?  Likewise, when the sisters kinda ‘accuse’ each other of having some fun with pussy, the vehement denials abound, although one of the sisters – and I can’t remember which one – was eyeballing her sister’s coochie and wondering what it would be like to taste it, all the while maintaining that she wasn’t a lesbian or bisexual.

I’m into chapter 26 (in eBook format) and the blatant adherence to almost every known Black-related stereotype is, for me, taking the fun out of reading it because, well, the stereotypes are bullshit.  Yes, this is a work of erotic urban fiction… but almost every book I’ve read in this genre contains these same stereotypes, like there’s some attempt to keep them alive in the face of real-world behaviors, not that I could imagine identical triplets doing what these sisters are doing.

In these books, I object to the fact that the characters are all highly successful, like they’ve wound up coming from very humble beginnings but now have silver spoons sticking out of their asses.  I get it, though, because it is a ‘subliminal’ message to all Blacks that, yes, you can be highly successful if you put your mind to it and I think this is a good message, in and of itself… but damn!

Who’s writing the book where the characters are your average kind of man or woman?  Where’s the dude with the average dick and stamina who works a regular gig?  Where’s the woman who shops at J. C. Penny’s because she works a job that doesn’t allow her to buy Prada?

Why don’t these very good authors of erotic urban fiction write about ‘normal’ people who are bisexual despite the myths that Black people avoid this like the plague (because they really don’t)?

My lady got me started reading these books and, well, I’ll pretty much read anything, such is my love for reading.  And while I do applaud these authors for being the successes they are, I wouldn’t mind seeing such works with characters who ain’t all that larger than life, if you know what I mean.  I’d like to see works that go more along the lines of dispelling the myths that have surrounded Black men and women since before my time.  More often than not, they cast us in an unfavorable light and, as I’ve seen in various books in this genre, you get the impression that Black folks, when they get to the top of the heap, just act like a bunch of irresponsible idiots.

But if raunchy, unthinkable sex is something you can get your head around, I do recommend reading “Man Swappers” provided you don’t find the stereotypes too bothersome.  I’m in a part of the book where the sisters are deviating from their, um, normal behavior in that they’re getting involved with these supermen and they ain’t sharing a damned thing.  It’s an interesting study in their individual sensibilities in that from when they started doing this in high school, there’s now a ‘battle’ between sticking with their long-established rules and dealing with their own individual desires and needs.

I can’t wait to see what else Passion, Pleasure, and Pain are going to get into.  I suspect and even anticipate that their world is about to come crashing down around them and how this happens, as well as how the triplets handle it, is going to be interesting… but since most of these stories have happy endings, it’ll be interesting to see how they going about effecting damage control and if they continue to triple-team the supermen they run across.

I’m out for the moment… I have some other shit I’m thinking about that needs to be written…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 12 September 2012 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

