RSS

Waiting for Sandy

29 Oct

We’ve battened down the hatches, laid in supplies, filled the bathtub with water, and everything that needs a battery has one… or two… or four.  All there is to do now is wait for Sandy to show up and with the hope she’s not going to fuck us up too badly when she makes landfall in a few short hours.

They’re pretty much betting that we’re going to lose power at some point and may be in the dark for days before power is restored… and I truly hope things are not going to be that bad where we live, even though this weather hussy is going to make landfall a mere 50 miles from where we live and, oh, yeah, keep going right into us.

Those of you who don’t live in the Delaware/New Jersey area and have seen the predicted path of the storm on your local weather station or The Weather Channel might be saying the same thing we are:  We might be fucked.

Evacuations have been ordered in each of our three counties, mostly in the areas known to flood if two dogs get together and piss on something.  The governor hasn’t exactly issued a state of emergency, something I find a little surprising since the states around us – Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and New York – have done this already.  He’s only activated 200 National Guardsmen – so far – but has made it illegal to be out driving; that goes into effect at 0500 and the fines will be stiff for anyone getting busted.

I’m thinking it’s a pretty dumb thing for him not to declare a state of emergency and more so since he’s running for re-election – makes me not want to vote for him because it looks like he’s playing it safe.

Remember Hurricane Irene?  That bitch paid us a visit last year and while we didn’t get hit as badly as some other areas did, my baby and I did get to watch a tornado to the east of us just roaring by and heading north – it was both pretty cool and pretty frightening all at the same time.  It’s just a reminder that hurricanes can spawn tornadoes; I’ve seen three of them and I’d rather not see a fourth so up close and damn near personal if you know what I mean.

It’s funny; on our side of the apartment building, there are two parking lots, an upper one and a lower; all the people who usually park in the lower lot are parked in the upper lot; not only are there a lot of trees bordering the lower lot, there’s a little ‘creek’ that runs through the property and empties into a bigger creek that’s less than a quarter of a mile from here and our little creek has been known to overflow when it rains really hard.

Even funnier, there’s a reservoir next door to the property at the top of the hill.  While I’m sure things aren’t going to get so bad that the reservoir loses containment, it does make one a bit nervous to think about what would happen if it ever did – that’s a hell of a lot of water, ya know?.  Hopefully, the city officials have lowered the water level in the reservoir…

So there’s nothing to do but wait and see what happens.  We’ve checked on our family members – quite a few of them live in South Jersey and too close to where Sandy will come ashore; they’re okay for now and have prepared to the best of their ability.  And, hopefully, my mother got to the store and got the eggs and toilet paper she said she needed when I checked on her.

This is one of those situations where you hope for the best… but prepare for the worst.  I saw the picture on the right on Facebook earlier today – and thought it was pretty funny… except, of course, we live in the “totally screwed” bubble.

But, I’m not worried; I’m actually looking forward to the wind and rain… and watching my neighbors outside walking their dogs.  Ah, it makes me so happy that we have a cat!  Although, if the storm gets too noisy, she’s gonna want to either hide under our bed… or hide in the tub and all I have to say is I hope she looks before she leaps – but it’ll be pretty damned funny if she doesn’t look first…

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 29 October 2012 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Waiting for Sandy

  1. John Wilder

    29 October 2012 at 09:32

    I don’t know why more people don’t invest in an emergency generator. It makes it a whole lot more comfortable to be able to watch tv have lights and a refrigerator and freezer. As a former boy scout I follow their motto about being prepared

    Like

     
  2. Ariela

    29 October 2012 at 09:35

    I stand in solidarity with you. It’s so creepy: in my neighborhood, we’re used to seeing people out and about at all hours of the night. However, the streets have been deserted since yesterday afternoon. We’re holed up in our 2nd floor apartment, but some of our friends are in the evacuation zones. We don’t usually lose power in my neck of the woods, but we’re prepared for it anyway. Positive side: no school today, so I’m gonna get SO MUCH done!

    I hope you don’t lose power, and that for the sake of amusement the kitty jumps into the bathtub. Hopefully, you also get some quality time in with your lady 😉

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      29 October 2012 at 11:33

      It’s pretty nasty out… and Sandy hasn’t made landfall yet… and the whore has gained in strength. We’re experiencing tropical storm winds, lots and lots of rain; the little creek I mentioned will probably overflow somewhere in the next hour or so… and the cat is still dry. I’ve seen on TV where places in NJ and parts of lower Delaware are underwater – one main road in lower Delaware has been underwater since YESTERDAY. Two hospitals here – and I was born in one of them – lost power a little while ago and are now running on emergency generators.

      I’ve seen people leaving and entering the complex – there’s a driving ban in effect – and it’s a clear sign that these people are not taking this shit seriously… and they’re interested in getting fined and points on their license. Two women jumped in their Honda SUV and left… and were back two minutes later and probably because the cops are staked out by the White Clay Creek – that’s the big creek right down the road from us – and it’s probably already overflowed its banks and then add on the fact that the creek is downhill from us so there’s probably a shitload of water on the road there.

      Stupid people; I’m staying in, messing with the old lady, and playing Words With Friends!

      Emergency generators. I’m sure all the hardware places were doing brisk business on generators… but since we live in an apartment having a generator ain’t gonna do us a lot of good.

      Like

       
      • Ariela

        29 October 2012 at 12:00

        Yikes, I hear ya. We haven’t had much except really strong wind here, and for some reason there’s an idiot riding his motorcycle in the area. I heard about it gaining strength… it’s scary. Also, Battery Park City saw a 3-foot rise in water early this morning, which is pretty crazy considering Sandy’s still so far away. I head about Jersey, and what’s worse is that the winds from Sandy are supposed to blow in perpendicular to what they’re already getting… so it’s gonna be bad. Fingers crossed!

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        29 October 2012 at 12:15

        Ariela, it’s about to get real around here. The governor of NJ is on the tube right now and he’s not pulling any punches as he tells people what they need to be doing. He’s already told them that when Sandy hits tonight, if you haven’t left the area yet, they’re not going to be able to come rescue people.

        If I lived there, I’d listen to the man…

        Like

         
      • Ariela

        29 October 2012 at 13:01

        Oy vey. We have downed trees in NYC parks already. Fortunately, I live on pretty high ground, close to the highest point in the entire city, so I haven’t seen nearly as much excitement as everyone else. I don’t have cable, so I’m live streaming the Weather Channel (although, I have a paper to write that’s due tomorrow – if schools are open – but I’m just way too distracted by this).

        Shit is getting real. I really hope it doesn’t get to bad for you. Keep me posted.

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        29 October 2012 at 13:06

        Well, they’re saying that when Sandy makes landfall, we can expect hurricane force winds so that’s when things will get hinky for us; it’ll hit NJ first, then us here in northern DE…

        Like

         
      • Ariela

        29 October 2012 at 13:16

        It’s snowing in my part of the Bronx right now… just started 10 minutes ago. This is nuts!!!

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        29 October 2012 at 13:21

        Getting really real now, huh? Keep in mind that you’re seeing stuff from the leading edge of the storm combining with a system coming down from Canada! Look at it like this – you could be here hanging out with me when Sandy bitch-slaps us later tonight!

        Like

         
      • Ariela

        29 October 2012 at 13:22

        I know, i feel bad for the other states, the eye of the storm won’t pass over NYC… 😦 and the wind has been crazy since the middle of the night… and it’s just getting better!

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

