RSS

This Is A Good One

21 Mar

Cranked up WordPress, glanced to the right a little and saw this Top Searches thingy:  “Suppress bisexual urges.”

I thought a couple of things, starting with, “That’s a good one!”  The next thing I thought is that a lot of people who have the urge usually winds up suppressing it for a few reasons from being afraid to do something about the urges they feel, to not being able to find someone they can express those urges with, and to preserve their relationship or status.

Just because you feel the pull of sexual duality doesn’t mean you have to do anything about it.  I know bisexuals – back when we didn’t officially exist – have been seen as perpetually horny and promiscuous individuals, ready and willing to jump the bones of any man or woman that’ll allow them to (some straight person probably started this stereotype) and that’s not really close to the truth because one of the things I hear a lot of bisexuals say is that they don’t always have to act on their bi urges or it’s not something they’d do all the time, and other such phrases and they’re often uttered to point out and/or confirm that they like and prefer opposite sex stuff first and foremost.

And that’s fine… even though I think this is pretty funny but we’re not gonna talk about that today.  But the folks who feel this way are more likely to suppress their bisexual side and simply because they don’t feel like expressing it.

I’m thinking that whoever coined the search phrase was looking for information on how to suppress whatever they’re feeling so if person is reading this, my ‘advice’ is to not worry about suppressing it; accept that you feel the way you do and I wouldn’t even worry about trying to do something about the way you feel because while there are lots of bisexuals, um, try to find one; we don’t exactly stand out in a crowd.

Suppression might be a lot easier for guys when you think about the STD factor, which is scary enough all by itself and if you’re not a big fan of strapping on some latex (or sheepskin), well, necessity mandates that you suppress scratching that itch.  I would suppose that women can run into similar things but, admittedly, you don’t really hear a whole lot about this problem for them; the CDC probably has some data on it but have deigned to publish it for the public to view.

While there are a ton of reasons why suppressing one’s bisexual urges is a good idea, I will point out – again – that bisexuality isn’t just physical – that’s just the part that gets the most attention.  You can suppress your urges and actions… but suppressing your thoughts and feelings?  Oh, I’m not saying that it can’t be done – I’m just saying that trying to hide from your own thoughts might be a bit stressful and maybe even a waste of time given how one’s subconscious can magically make stuff pop into our heads unbidden.

But, as mentioned already, thinking and doing are not the same thing and when it comes to this, I’ve never figured out why people think it is.  I might be thinking about dick… and being me, I think about it just as much as I think about pussy.  That doesn’t mean that I’m going to do something about what I’m thinking; it’s not that I can’t but there’s some reality going on here as well, like the biggest problem bisexuals face:  Finding someone to  indulge themselves with.  That can be such a headache that suppressing action on the thought is warranted; all you have to do is read the stuff I’ve written about the site I belong to and see that it’s even harder than you think it is… unless, of course, the urge to act is so powerful and potent that you’re willing to set aside whatever personal values you have in this and take the first offer that comes your way.

Suppression becomes a necessity, in a weird kind of way; I’d hazard the guess that a lot of bisexuals are not in a situation where being able to act on their feelings and urges is something they can immediately take care of, like, you’re sharing a home with mixed company and someone who’s the same sex as you are is always ready and willing to throw down.  Not saying that this scenario doesn’t exist – it just isn’t very likely for most bisexuals so being able to do something about it winds up on the back burner until an opportunity (read that as the right person in the right situation) comes along… and let me know how that works for you.

So if you have it on your mind and it’s making your loins ache with desire – but gratification in this isn’t exactly obtainable, you suppress it.  Suppression, in and of itself, really isn’t that complicated a thing to do since – and at the risk of repeating myself – all you have to do is deal with your desire to act more than you have to deal with whatever you’re thinking about.  Like I said, I think about cock so much over the course of a day that I can’t tell you exactly how many times I think about another guy’s boner… but since I know that I cannot act on every thought I have about it, the urge to act get suppressed.

So, really, if you think with the big head more than you do the little one, suppressing your bisexual urges is quite doable as long as you understand that you can feel however you want to feel about this… but you don’t always have to do what you’re thinking about.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 21 March 2013 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “This Is A Good One

  1. DLM

    21 March 2013 at 19:44

    Good post, I know some who resist the urge by being angry and harsh towards the “offensive” sex be it the opposite or same sex in which they’re trying to resist the desire for. I wish they knew that its ok to have the urge/desire if you will but like you said, they don’t have to act on it.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      21 March 2013 at 20:19

      Hi Ethereal! Yeah, I know quite a few folks who behave like that because it can be frustrating to have such desires but have no way to address them. The first step in dealing with bisexual urges is just accepting that you have them; suppression of action in that direction could be warranted depending on one’s situation.

      And you can always give them the URL to this blog and let them read it for themselves…

      Like

       
  2. marriagecoach1

    21 March 2013 at 20:22

    Well stated Rob

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

undermounted

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

