RSS

Addiction

31 May

I don’t know if I mentioned this, but my Xbox 360 succumbed to the three red rings of death, that damned heating problem that Microsoft has never seemed to correct in the 360 models.  So, I gotta fix it and to ease my gaming withdrawal, I have been playing King’s “Candy Crush Saga” on my iPod, my tablet, and on Facebook… and this game is maddeningly addictive.

If you’re not familiar with it, it’s a knockoff of PopCap Games’ famous “Bejeweled” game except this looks like a child’s game… but one that requires adult concentration and focus to travel along the levels, completing the tasks given – remove jellies, drop ingredients – and, well, folks, I would really and seriously like to string up the people at King who invented this game and beat them all like red-headed step children.

I have two Facebook profiles so I’m literally able to play four games at a shot; if I run out of lives on the tablet (connected to one account) or my iPod (connected to another), I can sign into Facebook and play some more.

I can’t stop playing this game.  It tests me, it goads me to solve the puzzle; it teases me, letting me get oh, so close to my objective, only to kick me in the gut because I’ve run out of moves and, ultimately, lives.  Like a lot of games these days, you can beg your Facebook friends who are equally hooked on this game for more lives; the game is even gracious at times, letting you know that someone needs lives or is deserving of three extra moves.  They do come in handy and more so when you’ve gone through all of your power-ups and you’re not inclined to pay them to get more… which I’m not.

So I have to solve the puzzles on my own.  I frown, curse, and holler at my devices and I’m of a mind that the creators of the game had parents who were really brother and sister and some of them prefer sexual congress with animals.  As I sit and wait with amazing patience for my lives to respawn, I’m actually running a clock in my head, knowing that every thirty minutes, I get another life back.

I normally don’t pay attention to my iPod or tablet when it tells me I have Facebook messages… but I do now, looking for the magic words that someone playing Candy Crush Saga has sent me a request; they either need a life or a ticket to move on to the next segment… or they’re giving me lives, moves, or tickets when I need them.

The game is diabolical, insidious, and quite maddening; when I complete a level that I’ve been stuck on for days, I feel as if I’ve just conquered the world; I have an odd sense of relief that I’ve put this behind me while looking forward to the next task.

I’m not a fan of chocolate… and thanks to this game, I’ve come to dislike it even more.  If you know what I’m talking about, just nod; otherwise, these… these fucking things will start stealing space from you the moment you make a move and now you find yourself not fighting to solve the puzzle but battling this infernal, space-stealing, move-blocking nuisance chocolate has become.

I hate this game… but I can’t stop playing it!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 31 May 2013 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Addiction

  1. ankoku1331

    31 May 2013 at 17:27

    So sorry to hear about the Red Ring Of Death. May you get yourself a new Xbox soon or wait for the Xboxone. 🙂

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      31 May 2013 at 18:29

      Well, if I can’t fix it, I’ll just get another 360; the new Xbox One is giving me a bad feeling.

      Like

       
      • ankoku1331

        31 May 2013 at 18:58

        Bad feeling?

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        31 May 2013 at 19:07

        Yeah; I’ve followed this thing and don’t like some of the stuff I’ve been hearing about the way it’ll work.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

Apparently I Don't Exist

The Many Adventures of a Bisexual Genderqueer

