RSS

A Progress Report

12 Jun

I am now in either week four or five of exercising with “Hip Hop Abs” and I have to say that while it’s still not easy for me to do the routines, damn it, I think it’s starting to work!

Everything’s feeling stronger and, as I’ve been saying to my baby, I don’t know if it’s working on my abs but my arms and legs are getting one hell of a workout!  My love handles are starting to disappear ’cause my obliques are feeling pretty good, my hip flexors are getting toned – I ain’t gonna say I have a six-pack or even a one pack but that “V” of toned hip flexors is there and getting better.

Even though my legs are feeling stronger, the problem I have with my motor control in my right leg is really telling on me; there are some routines that I can do slowly but when it’s time to do them at tempo, eh, forget about it.  That leg just ain’t gonna move as quickly as I need it to and, sometimes, it’s all I can do not to totally lose my balance.

And, yes, my baby is still laughing her ass off at times.

When I’m trying to work it, I’m a little frustrated because I know that had I not had the stroke, I could do the routines easily and not have to worry about one leg being a half-second slower in responding.  Sure, I fake my way through the things my leg doesn’t want to do and I know that anything I can do is gonna help, but still…

On Mondays, we do “Ab Sculpt” and “Total Cardio Burn” – and that’s provided that the first session doesn’t wear our legs out too badly.  Tuesday is “Hips, Buns, and Thighs” and I gotta tell you, my hips, buns, and thighs do not like this shit; getting in the floor on the mat and doing those fucking reverse leg lifts and pumps not only kills the shit out of my lower back but my arms are raising all kinds of hell as well – my knees aren’t speaking to me on Tuesdays.  Between some damage I did to my left shoulder and the weakness on my right side, it makes it hard for me to be on my hands and knees in the table top position for very long and while I can fake it by resting on my forearms and working my glutes, my knees just ain’t trying to hear of me trying to balance my 195 pounds like that.

And when Shaun says, “Give me eight more!” or “Hold it up there!” I very loudly say, “Fuck you, Shaun – you do eight more… bastard.”

Wednesday it’s back to “Ab Sculpt” and “Total Cardio Burn” with the same provisions as Monday.  I not only work up a good sweat, I literally have water flowing off of me, totally soaking my UnderArmor cap way past its saturation point.  TCB isn’t giving me as many problems as it did when I first got started and there are some routines in there that I kinda enjoy doing, like the “Throwdown” and “Press the Floor” combo, as well as the “Get Busy” and my real favorite, “The Freak” – I’m surprised my baby can keep working out at this point because she’s trying very hard not to just bust out laughing at my enthusiasm.

Thursday… it’s time for the “Total Body Burn” and it’s forty-five minutes of sheer torture and the worst of it – other than having to get on the mat and work the glutes and shit again – is doing the three-tiered squats.  Ladies and gentlemen, fellow bloggers, THAT SHIT HURTS!  Now, it’s bad enough that you gotta do Shaun’s “tilt, tuck, and tighten” throughout the routines but when it’s time to do those fucking squats, my thighs wind up feeling like someone’s been beating them with a 2×4 while I’m doing them.  Of course, my right thigh is screaming bloody murder while my left thigh is wondering, “What’s wrong with him?  This feels good!”

By the time we’re done, I can barely move; I’m sweating like I’m already in the shower.  I smell to high heaven and cannot wait to get the funk off of me… if I can get my legs to work long enough for me to strip down and make it to the bathroom.  My arms have taken another beating because TBB includes working with weights… and I’ve noticed something about this.  Dealing with two and three-pound weights sounds like an easy thing to do… until you get those fuckers moving around and in ways you’d normally not move this seemingly slight weight.  By the time I get done flapping my arms around, well, it doesn’t feel good; my left shoulder is seconds away from filing a restraining order against me and my right arm just hates me for trying to make it do shit it doesn’t feel like doing.

All I want to do after barely surviving TBB is curl up in a ball and suck my thumb for a while…

Friday is a repeat of Monday and Wednesday and, believe me, after Thursday, I’m actually looking forward to the Friday routine, which now seems easier than standing up.  According to the enclosed workout schedule, there’s some shit we should be doing on Saturday before resting on Sunday… and it ain’t happening because I need those two days off to get my mind and body ready to start the cycle over again on Monday.

I think back to when I agreed to give this a try, taking a moment to watch a part of TCB to see what would be involved.  I remember thinking, “How hard can this be?” and, no, it wasn’t being naive or anything like that – this shit looks easy and, of course, Shaun and his fellow professional dancers make this look even easier; like I said, this dude is running his mouth a mile a minute AND doing all the routines AND smiling the whole fucking time.  So, no, it doesn’t look hard to do…

Then I think about my state of mind when I learned that this shit is even harder than I thought it would be – yes, I knew it would be hard because I know my balance is shot and I have this damned deficit to work with.  But even after four or five weeks, it’s not getting easier.  Oh, I’ve pretty much got the progressions from one routine to the other memorized – I don’t wind up going in the wrong direction or doing the wrong thing as much as I was.  I do feel stronger and able to really push it a little more with the routines I can do, like lifting that knee a little higher, sitting down a little further on those squats, etc..  But it’s not easier and after all this time, there are muscles and muscle groups waking up that I’d forgotten where there that want to stiffen up and ache a little; you should try doing “Press the Floor” at tempo while your lower back is cussing you out.

And, keep in mind that our workout plan is not the one on the provided guide; if I remember correctly, on Wednesdays, we’re supposed to do Total Cardio Burn and Total Body Burn.  Like hell I will…

Despite all of this, I am committed to doing this, come hell or high water; I’m still not sure that I’ll have that totally ripped abdomen but provided I don’t rip any muscles or tendons, I should wind up in pretty good shape.

Okay, left arm out front, right arm out to the side… and freak!

 
24 Comments

Posted by on 12 June 2013 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: ,

24 responses to “A Progress Report

  1. MysteryCoach

    12 June 2013 at 18:42

    Haahahahaaa!!! you go BOY! lolol I laughed through this entire thing. YOU GO BOY! I know how you feelz! I was considering getting this to start out working out again. I may have to now, it’s on sale.

    HAHAHA FUCK YOU SHAUN … I talk to the TV too 🙂 haa!

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      12 June 2013 at 19:10

      So hook it up, get started, then let me know how you do with it.

      Like

       
      • MysteryCoach

        12 June 2013 at 19:12

        I haven’t gotten it yet. They want like uh… 19.95 + S&H for it. I love it because it’s dancing 🙂

        I may just buy it. 🙂 I watch things for a while and now that it’s on sale, that would be cool.

        Look atchew gitting all buff 🙂 Whoo hooo! I’m so proud of you 🙂

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        12 June 2013 at 19:16

        Keep thinking that, okay?

        Like

         
  2. MysteryCoach

    12 June 2013 at 19:19

    Ha! You said it yo’sef! You see a difference and you are doing what you can do and you’re keeping at it. That is so awesome! It’s totally awesome. It is, I mean … I’m tickled to death that you’re doing all this. 🙂

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      12 June 2013 at 19:44

      I’m tickled, too, but when I’m doing it? I’m anything but tickled…

      Like

       
      • MysteryCoach

        12 June 2013 at 19:50

        Haa! I know exactly what you mean, it’s hard! Body be all like, Oh shit muther fucker whatchew doin ta’ me man!

        Muscles you haven’t seen in years complain and loudly!

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        12 June 2013 at 20:27

        And you feel that way when both sides of your body play nice with each other; now imagine how I feel… and my right side doesn’t want to play nice and work with the unaffected left side. I’m working out, getting in shape (I guess), but, man, it’s a bitch.

        Like, Shaun has you marching in place between routines – keeps you loose and all that. I was in band in high school and had to march; I was in the service and had to march. But, something that simple isn’t that easy for me to do – it’s timing, mostly, and my right leg is much slower than my left.

        Go on and pay that $19.95 + shipping and check it out for yourself – and, please, come back after your first week and let me know how easy it was for you!

        Like

         
      • MysteryCoach

        13 June 2013 at 05:39

        Oh it won’t be easy, I’m sure of it. I’ve slacked off way too much myself. I’m quite sure I will be sore. I thought about it this morning, gots ma credit card right here 🙂

        I can imagine how hard it is. P90X was very hard and until I pulled a tendon in my arm, I had sore muscles that I didn’t know existed. lolol

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        13 June 2013 at 10:54

        We have P90X as well but felt Hip Hop Abs would be easier for me to do. So… have you ordered Hip Hop Abs yet? Whatcha waiting for?

        Like

         
      • MysteryCoach

        13 June 2013 at 18:13

        I ordered it this MORNING 🙂 3/5 days! P90’s very hard, I can see why you would do this one instead. I mean, you really have to be conditioned in some way, I think.

        I had been moving up in workouts for about a 9 months to a year before I bought it and even then it was hard. I did what the man told me, just go at my pace and it still worked going at a pace that suited me and my body, I messed it up by getting over zealous with the weights. 🙂

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        13 June 2013 at 20:14

        Good for you! Let me know how you do with it!

        Like

         
      • MysteryCoach

        14 June 2013 at 04:44

        I will 🙂 I have no regimine at all right now and my daughter’s going to get knee surgery in a couple weeks. We’ll see 🙂

        Like

         
      • Mystery

        16 June 2013 at 13:39

        Well BOOYAH! 🙂 I just finished day one. It’s perfect because it’s only a 1/2 hour right now, easily modified so I don’t kill myself initially AND it’s fun.

        I can see, now, how difficult it would be for you to do it as well and I’m even more happy for you that you’re keeping up with it.

        And Boy, I lost some of my rhythm ! That just will not do, I laughed at myself like nobody’s business. I’ll get it though, couple weeks… be slammin 🙂

        🙂 I’m glad I saw your post, it’s good, I like it. P90 had a lot of movements that my lower back just did not like, so I would skip the ab ripper dvd. Modification is good 🙂

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        16 June 2013 at 13:52

        How’d it make you feel?

        Like

         
      • Mystery

        16 June 2013 at 13:53

        Really good 🙂 Pumped and a little spastic lol It’s perfect for starting over again, I like it a lot! 🙂

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        16 June 2013 at 14:05

        Where did you start (which routine)? I can’t wait for you to get to Hips, Buns, and Thighs and then the Total Body Burn; the cardio workout is nice – really gets the heart pumping!

        Like

         
      • Mystery

        16 June 2013 at 14:07

        I’m using the schedule that came with it, so I did Fat burning cardio today and that’s for tomorrow and it’s only a 1/2 hour, so it’s perfect and my heart was pumpin alright 🙂 How long have you been doing this now?

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        16 June 2013 at 14:40

        Ah, so you’re using the supplied schedule – please let me know how that works for you and when you have to do fat burning cardio and total body burn on the same day. I’m into my fifth week and, no, we’re not exactly going by the supplied schedule – if we were both in our 20’s or 30’s we probably would… then again, we probably wouldn’t need to be doing this torture to begin with!

        Like

         
      • Mystery

        17 June 2013 at 06:45

        Hahaha! So far it’s fun, that’s what I needed to start. I like this kind of torture. 🙂 However, yeeeaaa I had no workout routine when I was younger and I worked out for a good number of years, then I hurt my shoulder and stuff and one thing led to the other and I fell out of it.

        Yes, the supplied schedule is good, it helps me focus and if it works that’s cool. I know what to take it easy on based on where I”m at physically, which is ZERO IMHO 🙂

        By the third week, I believe, they amp it up and have you do 2 workouts. P90 was a full hour so by week three I should be okay.

        Fifth week huh? YOU GO BOY!!!! 🙂 oh you gonsta be all svelt n’sheet 🙂

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        17 June 2013 at 14:42

        P90X is insane all by itself. I was looking at it to see if they were doing stuff I could do… and I wouldn’t dare take P90X on unless I wanted to get myself hurt. Hip Hop Abs starts their warm-up by marching; P90X start out jogging so right off the bat so I know I couldn’t do this because I can’t even run anymore.

        Like

         
      • Mystery

        17 June 2013 at 20:11

        It is insane. I watched the infomercials for at least a full year before I bought it. I went at my own pace, he suggested it and that’s just wise. Those who try to do it, to their level … I don’t know, some are dedicated and all and I was too, until I hurt my tendon and had to quit. I tell you though, when I get through with this hip hop thing, I really want to do the P90 again. I truly, LOVED it.

        You do what works for you, that’s all. I mean this hip hop thing is great. I really like it, I’m still a spaz 🙂 LOL I think that bothers me a little more then being out of shape, but it’s just practice, I’m not worried and I laugh at me too, so it’s cool.

        You’re doing what works for you. That is the most important thing 🙂 And you’re doing WELL … HOT DAMN ! 🙂

        Like

         
  3. lifeofalovergirl

    13 June 2013 at 20:36

    Good for you keeping up the hard work!! 😉

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      13 June 2013 at 21:19

      I’m trying, Lovergirl! As scheduled, we did the Total Body Burn… and it still feels like a mugging. I felt so beat up afterward I could barely walk…

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

undermounted

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

