RSS

Thirteen Types

20 Jan

Again, I’m gonna reference this blog – http://indiscretionsblog.com/2014/01/19/bisexuality-13-types-which-type-are-you/ – because, well, I need to.  Shalynne pointed out that the list was mostly about women although I saw a few things that could directly related to men, like types 9 (recreational), 10 (isolated), 11 (latent), and 13 (transitional).  Since some guys can have that affinity for men – they like guys like they like women – then type 5 (emotional) could be relevant.

The list of thirteen types does make a lot of sense when you’re thinking about women… but how does this list really relate to men?  We don’t think of our activities with other guys in terms of relationships unless we’ve chosen a guy (or two) to be steady sexual partners, like fuck buddies or jerk-off partners; as I pointed out in my comments on Shalynne’s blog, guys might do this because it cuts down the risk of being exposed, cuts down the risk of disease, and it’s just more convenient to already have a guy you can have sex with rather than having to search for someone who has similar needs and desires.

I’ve always thoughts of some men being opportunistic and even predatory when it comes to sex with other men; if the opportunity arises, it’ll be taken and there are guys who actively go looking for other men to have sex with and, no, they’re not always gay.  I know that in my youth a lot of us were type 7 (exploratory), doing it to satisfy curiosity and I’d even say that type 8 (hedonistic) would be applicable – doing it just because it can be done.  Going forward, a lot of guys were type 2 (circumstantial); trying to get sex from women is never an easy thing to do and that need to have sex just isn’t going to go away and masturbation does nothing except take some of the edge off… or not.

Continuing with this, being circumstantial could come into play when a guy is in a relationship with a woman but she doesn’t suck dick, won’t suck him off, doesn’t suck him to his satisfaction, and/or won’t consent to anal sex; if she’s lost her desire for sex, this can push a guy into being circumstantial, too.  Some of the other types can come into play here, like latency, transitioning, and exploratory; guys know that there are other guys who will suck a dick until it’s empty and will allow anal sex as a matter of course.  So when a guy is having some issues with sex with his woman, this is almost a logical process provided the guy isn’t homophobic; a homophobic man would rather go without sex or go get it from another woman before they’d have sex with another man.

So far, seven of the thirteen types could also relate to men but I’m also thinking that there’s a progression in this – I can see it in my mind but, at the moment, I haven’t quite gotten it all sorted out, like going from latency to exploratory, perhaps becoming isolated, but also progressing into recreational and hedonistic; taking the emotional path is possible but not all that likely – I can’t honestly say that I know other men who have gotten emotionally involved with a guy that didn’t have anything to do with lust; as I’ve revealed, I fell in love with a guy once so I had both a sexual and emotional relationship with him while being married and only if for a short period of time – this isn’t really relevant but simply qualifies the possibility:  If I could have this occur, then it stands to reason that other men could experience this if they were so inclined.

I know that guys who hang out on gay/bisexual dating sites are mostly hedonistic although I’ve always thought of them as being predatory; they do it just for the fun of it but are often quite aggressive and assertive when pursuing someone they want to have sex with.

One would have to assume that men could be associated with the six other types I haven’t mentioned but I only know of one guy who was type 4 (conditional); but he was a gay man who married a woman but I never knew the details of why he did so in my experiences, this is an exception and not the rule as I understand it.

One of the things that throws me for a loop about the thirteen types is the use of the word “relationship” – there are a couple of ways you could look at this word – traditionally, as in “let’s play house” or sexually as in, “I don’t wanna play house with ya but I do wanna play doctor.”  To that end, almost all of the men I’ve come in contact with over the years are more interested in a sexual relationship than a traditional one unless the guy happened to be gay… but between bisexual men, getting into a committed/uncommitted relationship with another guy is unthinkable given that this would imply that they’re gay rather than bisexual – and this is despite the fact that they could be married to a woman.  This gets fuzzy because, traditionally, women are more interested in playing house, men more interested in playing doctor, if you will.

Bisexual men know why they’re bisexual… and I’m kinda sure that they don’t think of their sexuality in terms of type – I know I didn’t until Shalynne’s list got me thinking about it… and I’m still not 100% sure where on the list I am although type 3 (concurrent relationship) could be applicable as well as type 8 (hedonistic).  It makes the mind whirl a little when one gets a chance to look at their sexuality like this and then tracing their steps from beginning to current in order to figure out where they are in the here and now.  Some men discover bisexuality early in life while others discover it much later; some men try it once or twice in their youth and never revisit this kind of sex… but later in life, they give it another go and then based on the simple fact that they have done it before and despite the intervening years.

I think that for any male bisexual, it’s about whatever they’re doing and why they’re doing it but it’s also about how they found themselves on this sexual path.  I also think that you could interview 100 bisexual men and get different reasons for why they’re bisexual… but I also think a pattern of commonality would also be made apparent even though we do take different routes to wind up in the same place.

Shalynne, how did I do?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 20 January 2014 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Thirteen Types

  1. shalynne

    20 January 2014 at 18:51

    Seems like a pretty comprehensive application of the 13 types to men. I personally know only one bisexual man, who’s married to a bi woman. As far as I know they’ve agreed to live life as a married couple, raise their children in a traditional home (mom stays at home), but they’re free to pursue either one-night stands or poly-type relationships with others of their own gender. He claims to have an I’m also fairly certain he has NOT spent much time thinking about the different types; he would just say that he’s “living life as he sees fit”.

    Thanks for spending so much “head” time on this subject! Very enlightening discussion. 🙂

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      20 January 2014 at 19:03

      Thank you again for bringing the discussion up! Yeah, a lot of guys don’t think about type – it’s about living in the moment and handling things in the best manner possible or available. At some point, you’re not gonna spend a lot of time worrying about what people think about you being bisexual because, at least for men, the pursuit of sex is relentless and never takes a day off. Once we’ve gotten our minds in this space, it doesn’t matter whether we’re getting pussy or dick… as long as we’re getting it and having fun doing it.

      Your list of bisexual typing could go a long way to letting all the budding bisexuals get an idea of why they are the way they are; I, for one, am very glad that you wrote your blog about this – it’s given me some very delicious food for thought!

      *Burp* – excuse me!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Cannabis Joint

All the information you could possibly want..... coming soon!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

