RSS

Continuing Education

12 Apr

Some of the more exciting things I’ve experienced as a bisexual isn’t just the sex – it’s the ongoing process of learning how to be bisexual.  Some of it is keeping tabs on how other bisexuals are handling their sexuality and what they may or may not be doing but a lot of my continuing education in this is going over what I’ve learned about myself over all these years.

Being bisexual isn’t static although it may seem that way and more so if you’re not always on the prowl for your favorite same-sex tidbits – there’s a lot of internal adjusting that goes on as well.  Looking back over the years, I know I’ve adjusted my preferences a gazillion times, reexamined what I will and won’t do, and think about all the lessons learned, both good and bad, to ultimately decide if being bisexual is still a good way to be.  I honestly don’t know if other bisexuals have this continuing education thing going on with them; hell, they probably don’t think about it as much as I do but just like other aspects of my life, I feel it’s important to know where I’ve been, to know where I am now, so I can see where I may be going in the future.  And a lot of this ongoing learning is about not making some of the mistakes I made in the past and, yeah, even if they were happy mistakes.

I had been sitting here drinking coffee, watching “BBQ Pitmasters,” and messing with my devices when a question popped into my head:  Do you know how to be bisexual?  I ain’t gonna say that I know where this question came from because I don’t know… but it seemed like a valid question because accepting that you’re bisexual doesn’t automatically imbue you with how to go about being this way; unless you’re damned lucky to have someone mentoring you in this, it’s pretty much OJT and, most of the time, there’s no one to tell you how to learn the things you need to learn in order to fully comfortable with being bisexual and, as such, one of the first things you learn is that trial and error can be a real bitch of a way to learn about something.

This particular rabbit hole is pretty deep which is probably why a lot of people don’t spend any time thinking about what they know about being bisexual; I’ve been known to give myself a headache or two thinking about it.  The continuing education is about awareness, staying in touch with yourself and your environment.  How does this “bisexuals don’t really exist” thing affect you?  Are you aware of your desires and, if you’re in a relationship, how does your desires play into this aspect of your life?  Along this line, does your partner know or suspect that you’re bi and how does their behavior affect yours?  What about other family, friends, and co-workers?  Are you worried about what they might know or suspect?  Indifferent about it?

Are you as up-to-date on what it means to be bisexual as you think you are?  Strangely, given all that I’ve learned, I often find that I’m not as current as I’d like to be.  It’s not as much about trends in that sense although, today, I’m learning about other aspects of bisexuality that, in my experiences, never existed before or, at the least, were never apparent enough to be an issue.  Like, when I learned about the behavior of some folks who have same-sex experiences but will tell you in a heartbeat that they’re not bisexual and even though my personal thought is that this is just kinda crazy, being aware and up-to-date means that you take note of this and even give some thought about how this mindset may or could affect you.

I’ve been learning that some bisexuals know that they’re bi but unless they can find themselves in a same-sex relationship, to them, they haven’t validated themselves.  You’ve been reading that I think this is a little nuts, too, but it’s still about being aware of things, to be able to see how other bisexuals are handling this for better or worse.  I’ve learned that other bisexuals are more concerned with coming out than I can remember in the past and that it’s not necessarily a good or bad thing and, at a basic level, I’ve learned that more people are actively questioning their sexuality and looking for ways to gain the knowledge they need, like hooking up with their local LGBT community, seeking experienced bisexuals to act as mentors, and doing as much research on the Internet as they can.  I’m continuing to learn how these new things I’ve been learning affect my own thinking about being bisexual; it’s not about changing the way I’m bisexual as much as it is being aware of things that may or may not impact me in the unforeseen future.

Is your bisexual education complete?  I know that mine isn’t, just as I know that while it’s just fantastic to have a lot of experience, there’s still no such thing as learning too much about something that I could easily take for granted.  I know what I know… but I also know what I don’t know and, yeah, I don’t know what I don’t know, too, which is exactly why I keep learning about being bisexual here in the 21st century.

Class dismissed…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 12 April 2014 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Continuing Education

  1. ellendolfan

    12 April 2014 at 15:11

    It took me 46 years, and a series of weird events for me to even realize that I am bisexual. Luckily, my best friend is bi, and he helped me figure some things out. I’m still a virgin as far as a same sex relationship goes, but that doesn’t change the fact that I am bi. I’m still learning, and constantly being surprised. And I did come out. In fact, I managed to do it on Facebook, so my manager at my job knows about it. (I’m returning to the place I quit 2 years ago)
    I’m still learning. My husband is still trying to understand. My family has a “I didn’t ask, so don’t tell me” attitude. My online guy thinks it’s hot, and a turn on. I guess everything is a work in progress.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      12 April 2014 at 16:34

      It always is a work in progress snd we learn more with greater awareness of ourselves and other bisexuals we may meet!

      Like

       
  2. Tala Carson

    12 April 2014 at 15:40

    You bring up really important questions. I came out to myself like six months ago. I am new to the bisexual community in some way. But I remember how unhappily I was surprised to find out that there are people who are afraid of dating bisexuals. The fact some people put the existence of bisexuality in doubt gave me deep concern as well. There are lots of other things I have been learning about life of bisexuals, and there are things I’ve been discovering about myself as a bisexual.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

