RSS

Randomness

13 May

Today’s topic of discussion is… nothing.  I have this need to write but as I sat here thinking about what was really on my mind, um, well, I had nothing… but the urge is still there to write and when my mind gets like this, I actually sit and think about how to write about nothing at all, that or I try to capture ramdon thoughts and with the hope one of those “Oh, yeah!” moments will descend upon me.

I was thinking about Lovergirl’s failed FMF and agreed with Larry that those things never go well unless the women involved are willing to not only play nice with each other but with the guy who’s drooling over the prospect of double pussy.  These things always sound good on paper but don’t often work out well – trust me, I know this all too well.  I’m glad Lovergirl managed to hang in there despite the bad vibe but, personally, I would have went home the moment I picked up on the bad vibe – you just learn at some point to avoid these situations like the plague and no matter how much you wanna participate and get laid.

I’m sitting here at my desk, surrounded by my electronic toys:  An iPod, my Samsung Galaxy S III, my Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8, my iPad Air, and both of my laptops – and I’m currently watching (if you wanna call it that) “Lockdown – Women Behind Bars” on the NatGeo channel… and I find it amazing when I catch myself juggling devices that are clamoring for my attention – and they tend to want me to pick them up and touch them at about the same time, thanks to the slew of apps installed on them.  In the middle of all of this, I’ve been trying to figure out why my primary laptop – the one I’m writing this on – is having issues with high CPU usage.  I suspect that something is up with my Windows 7 Professional installation but everything I’ve checked to date says that the OS and the computer itself is fine.  I shook my head thinking about this, knowing that there are numerous tools available for diagnosing problems with Windows… but I’ve yet to run across something that actually checks the operating system itself, a problem I had when I worked with the huge serves that were all running Windows.

I think the last time I ran into this problem, I wound up having to save everything I could, wipe the drive, and reinstall the OS… and I just fucking hate doing that but, if I gotta do it…

It’s a breezy 71 degrees here today and while I’m glad to see the cold weather go away, I’m already thinking about the heat and humidity we get here; on the one hand, it’s a good thing – I’ve never been a cold-weather person – but on the other, my neuropathic pain is going to remind me that something as natural as sweating isn’t going to be fun – but at least I have my Lyrica to take the edge off the worst of the pain.  Even now, my face is reacting to the heat – it feels like someone’s been slapping me in the face repeatedly and I suppose I should be grateful because it doesn’t feel as bad in the warm weather as it does when it’s cold.

I thought about the conversation I had with the nurse that was prepping me for my colonoscopy and answering her question about why I was taking Lyrica and how the stroke I had left me with right-side deficits and this fucking pain.  When I told her where I have the pain, all she could say was, “Oh, my…” and wrote it all down – then a doctor came in and we went through the whole medication/physical things again, something that has always made me nuts; do medical people have a built-in failure to communicate?  Except the doctor wanted to know about every surgery I ever had, when I had it, what the outcomes were – I even had to tell her about being circumcised, something that took place over twenty years ago.  She got a little miffed because I remember having it done, why I had to have it done, and even the doctor who did it – I just couldn’t remember the exact date of the procedure.  Then I had to laugh at her when I told her about my AAA surgery; she asked, “And how did that turn out?”

I laughed and said, “Obviously, it turned out well since I’m sitting here talking to you about this…”

Then she asked, “You had AAA surgery… was that in your abdomen?”

I started to say, “No, it was in my knee…” but I know some doctors don’t have a sense of humor… but, um, doesn’t “AAA” stand for Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm?  I did remember to tell her that the repair included the aneurysm found in my left iliac branch – that’s where the aorta branches off into the left femoral artery – and she said, “Oh, so there were two aneurysms?”

I guess so, since I said that the vascular surgeon repaired the abdominal aorta and one in the left iliac branch.  I always thought that if you speak to doctors in their language, things get understood better… but I guess not, huh?  I even told her that I have an endograft device inside me, which didn’t stop her from asking if they cut my belly open; when she asked that, I just raised my gown up enough for her to see that, no, I don’t have a zipper, thank you very much – and then I was laughing to myself, thinking about how she might have reacted to see where my surgical scar from this really is, not that I was gonna show her that.

Then again, maybe she wouldn’t have reacted at all since these people send a lot of time sticking things in peoples’ asses…

This is just one of those moments when I don’t have some burning issue trying to get out of my .  Those of you who like to write can understand that there are just some times when you want to write but you really don’t have a particular thing to write about – which is a hell of a lot better than writer’s block!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 13 May 2014 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Randomness

  1. astraltravler

    13 May 2014 at 13:42

    Dear KD,
    As a retired/disabled Nurse/E.M.T. I can relate, and laughed. When I went in to have an emergency appendectomy and told the Surgeon I was allergic to dilaudid what do you think he ordered for pain….Aahhh there are some medical professionals that I sometimes question whether I want them to even touch me, or so much as to even to take my blood pressure. I’m “old school” and their are some out there that just amaze me that they care for patients. I never mention my previous occupation, I just observe and listen Very Carefully. : )

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      13 May 2014 at 21:46

      My mom was a nurse for over 35 years so I’ve learned a few things from her; I understand that before any procedure, they check and even triple check… But damn!

      Like

       
      • astraltravler

        14 May 2014 at 01:55

        Dear KD,
        It’s understandable to confirm past surgical procedures, and any complications to anesthetics. Although for a Nurse to not know what AAA is a Disgrace to the Profession. Especially if this person works in the surgery department. Just my feelings/thoughts.
        ~A

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

