RSS

QatQi

24 May

First, I have no friggin’ idea what “QatQi” might mean or if it means anything.  What I do know is this is a game I found for my iPad yesterday while looking for something new and, hopefully, exciting.  While checking out some word game apps, I ran across this game and both the name and screenshots associated with the app caught my eye and I thought, okay, let’s check this out – how bad can it be?

I love word games and I spend lots of time playing “Words With Friends,” “Scrabble,” and even the now-venerable “Bookworm.”  QatQi (pronounced “cat-key”), however, is unlike any word game I’ve ever played or even seen before and it’s rather addictive, right up until you almost literally wind up boxing yourself into a corner and with a bunch of letters you can’t really use.  Let me see if I can explain the game…

You open the app, which is free on Apple’s App Store (but has in-game purchases available) and you see a multilayered circle, the months of the year within the innermost circle, and the name of the game… like you’re gonna forget it… and maybe if you have an iDevice that’s compatible with this game, you might want to forget the name of the game.  Anyway, there are seven levels in this multilayered, “spoked” wheel, for lack of a better word; each level, for some reason, represents, say, May 5th to May 11th and the seven levels are the days of the week – and this is using the current calendar – May 5th was on a Monday and Mondays are the easiest puzzles to work out and get progressively harder as you move through the week.

The object of the game is easy:  Spell words and rack up the points – you can spell words horizontally and vertically only – but what isn’t as easy as it looks is that you have to make your words fit within random “borders” – I can’t think of a better word but I can tell you that some of the shapes makes playing this game both fun and quite nerve-wracking.  When you successfully use all of your letters – and the amount of letters needed to complete the puzzle do vary, like the one I’m doing now – and stopped playing so I could write this – has 125 letters and, yup, as you use letters, more take their place.   When you complete the round, you’ll see your score and if you’ve allowed the game to know where in the world you are, you’ll see how you stack up with other players around the world, in the US (since I live here), the state I live in, the county, city, and zip code and while I wasn’t surprised that I’m the only player playing in my zip code, I was a bit surprised that I’m not the only person in my state playing this lunatic of a game.

I know I haven’t done a good job of describing this game but you folks out there with an iDevice running iOS 7.0 or better can go to the App Store and read the description of the game and if you wanna test your vocabulary and puzzle-solving skills, download it and give it a try.  The game’s pretty to look at and has enough levels to keep you plenty occupied… or have you reaching for some headache relief.  When I started playing, I was rather tentative because I wasn’t quite sure how to play the game and I honestly don’t remember if there’s a tutorial at the beginning of the game but it didn’t take me long to figure it out and I stupidly thought, “Okay, this is kinda cool – shouldn’t be that hard to do…”

Yeah, I know – famous last words; it didn’t take me long before I got myself into some terrible messes that required me to restart the puzzle instead of using up all of my undos – the in-game purchases give you the opportunity to buy more stuff but if you’re not of a mind to do this – and I’m not – you can get more by either waiting 20-25 minutes or by watching the occasional video about other games to get yourself 20 undos.  I can’t honestly say that I love this game but, wow, it is a lot of fun to play.

Oh, if you don’t have an iDevice, I got some bad news for ya:  There’s no Android version of this game.  I have a feeling that I’m going to be playing this game for a very long time…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 24 May 2014 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

undermounted

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

