RSS

Look Into My Eyes

16 Jul

Today, I had not one but two women other than my Linda staring into my eyes, deeply, intently, and for long periods of time… because it was time for my yearly eye exam!  Ha!  Gotcha, didn’t I?

So instead of getting a new pair of progressive bifocal lens glasses, I’m trying a pair of multifocal contact lenses for the next couple of weeks to see if wearing these is better than wearing glasses.  When I got my glasses two years ago, I was a little bummed because for over 20 years, I’ve been wearing contacts for the vanity factor and because I had a job that would require me to wake up in the middle of the night and I needed to see right away and not scrambling around in the dark trying to find my glasses and, oh, yeah, buying contacts was cheaper than buying glasses.

The glasses I have really did a number on me, causing some friction burn behind both of my ears from always having to put them on, take them off, and pushing them up whenever they slid down.  Because of the progressive bifocal lenses, looking at something wasn’t as simple as moving my eyes – I spent a lot of time moving my head up and down and my fused neck is not fond of me tilting my head back at all… and they made reading in bed before I went to sleep an even bigger pain because try as I did, there was just no way I could lie comfortably and read with them on – even lying on my back required a lot of head movement or positioning that would make my neck bitch-slap me.  I was having some pretty bad headaches and found out that my glasses were causing the headaches because I was always squinching my face all over the place trying to keep the glasses where I needed to see, overworking the muscles in my face and, ouch – big time headache.

I had decided, when I made the appointment, that I wanted to at least try the multifocal lenses and if they really didn’t work for me, oh, well, it’s back to fucking glasses again.  I’ve had them in for a few hours now and, yeah, I see (get it?) what the doctor meant when she said it was going to take some doing to get my brain used to dealing with these lenses and I’m seeing what she meant by I’d give up a little clarity that would be present if I stuck with glasses; some things look fuzzy one moment and clear the next and the way she explained to me how the multifocal lenses work, well, I was kinda impressed and kinda tickled when she said that my brain, more than my eyes themselves, were gonna have a fun good time trying to use three focal points all at the same time.

Even though I haven’t worn lenses for a couple of years, it’s like riding a bike – you just don’t forget how to put your lenses in – and I could see Linda cringing as she watched me insert them.  After making an appointment to go back in two weeks to give the final word on contacts versus glasses, Linda and I went for a short walk… and I was laughing at myself ’cause I’m walking up the street and looking at everything I could see as if I were seeing for the first time – but I was really testing the new lenses for distance, close-up, and in-between and, yeah, you do kinda lose a little something, not really enough to call the trial a total bust at this point, but it’s noticeable.

The one thing I’ve had to get used to not having my glasses on; there have been two or three times when I’ve picked them up to put them on – and then realize I have contacts in although, as a test, I did put them on while doing a puzzle on my iPad and, strangely, I actually saw the puzzle better with my glasses and lenses than I did with the lenses alone – but the doctor did tell me that I might have to wear some cheaters – you know, those reading glasses you can find at the store – if the close-up stuff is really hard for me to see/read… which makes sense but kinda defeats the purpose of not wanting to wear glasses in the first place.

I like wearing contacts… but I’m not that prejudiced against glasses that I won’t wear them if I really have to have them – being able to see really works for me.  It just feels good not to be punching myself in the nose or having to move my head around or my least favorite thing to do, keep cleaning my glasses several times a day.  But we’ll see what the deal is with these lenses and I have a whole two weeks to decide one way or the other…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 16 July 2014 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Look Into My Eyes

  1. astraltravler

    16 July 2014 at 20:41

    Yea You Did Get Me!
    I’m going soon. I shudder just thinking about how much stronger my lens will need to be since I’ve gone from occasional to daily usage.
    ~A 😊
    ps Fantastic Link

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

Apparently I Don't Exist

The Many Adventures of a Bisexual Genderqueer

