RSS

It’s Done

31 Aug

My friends and fellow bloggers, the move is done and now it’s about (1) finding shit and (2) putting it where it belongs.

For us, Friday was brutal; we had help coming but we didn’t want to waste hours waiting for them so we started loading the truck and, in retrospect, we should have gotten the 26′ truck… but with construction in the area we were moving from, backing it up would have been dangerous so we opted for a 16′ truck instead… and the loading began.

Right away the mishaps started; the box of canned good fell off the dolly and burst open; we had to stop and repair the box then reload it before it went on the truck. Then, when loading four of the eight green bins we have, Linda was pushing, I was pulling but the bins got sideways, making Linda jump off the ramp like Supergirl – honestly, I did t know she had ups like that! She was okay but the bin of pictures and my bin of stuff had to be reloaded.

The most brutal part was moving out our Craftmatic bed:that bitch is beyond heavy!. Getting out of the bedroom was easy but now we had to resort to some ingenuity to (1) get it on the dolly then (2) get it on the truck… but we both took a beating getting it onto the now-reconfigured dolly – but we got both sections of the bed loaded.

By the time help arrived, the two of us had 3/4 of the truck loaded and an hour later, the hell had the truck really loaded and so much that I knew I’d have to be careful going around curves – did not want that motherfucker tipping over on me! Getting Zane, our cat, packed into her carrier was easier than we thought; I just picked her up, put her in, and she lay down peacefully as I closed the carrier. She didn’t lose her mind until I out her in the truck with me.

We got to the new place and started unloading like fiends! Ah, but now we had to get the bed off the truck – that was going to be a bitch all by itself – but the entrance to the master bedroom wasn’t at the right angle to get them in easily. To give you a better idea of how heavy that fucking bed is, me and Linda struggled with them… but me and her sister’s boyfriend couldn’t lift them high enough to get them in the dolly, which didn’t want to stay still, by the way. But we got the bed in, the mattresses, and our three flat screen TVs inside before we called it quits; my friends, I was hurting so bad I could barely walk! I had pulled a muscle in my thigh early on; I had cuts and scrapes on my legs and I was whipped good… but we hadn’t eaten since Thursday night dinner and we were all starving like Lee Marvin so we knocked over McDonald’s for some grub and we all passed the hell out because we knew we’d have to be up early to get all the stuff we had all over the place out of the way in time for our new furniture to arrive.

Saturday was a little better; more help arrived and we got the rest of the truck unloaded in about forty-five minutes after the furniture arrived and put in place. I was still hurting everywhere; I had a bad cramp in the thigh I hurt and my lower back hurt so much I was still moving like I was 158 instead of 58. We turned in the truck and went to turn in our keys and stuff at the old place and to pick up the three things we didn’t get Friday… except I forgot that I left my server in the closet! We needed the dolly to move its parts and we didn’t bring it with us so that was a major struggle for the three grown men trying to carry them out.

We get back home, I get the dolly to transport the server to the storage room and I hit my leg on one of the rack mounts; I looked at it, didn’t see any damage, and went to do something else but, later, Linda said, “Baby, your leg is bleeding like a bitch!!” And it was, too, running down my leg and into my sock! Just one thing: Where are the band aids? While Linda looked for them, I cleaned my wound, applied some neosporin, and then got bandaged up… and we weren’t done yet. But we got done, ordered dinner to be delivered for the very tired and hungry crew that helped us move to this new place.

Later, I’ll tell you about Zane…

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 31 August 2014 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “It’s Done

  1. ellendolfan

    31 August 2014 at 20:36

    I hate moving with a passion. I did it ten times in 8 years.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      31 August 2014 at 20:37

      Hi, Ellen! Yeah, I was very much reminded of how much I fucking hate to move…

      Like

       
  2. Cinnamon

    31 August 2014 at 22:19

    You DID move down here to Florida right?

    Like

     
  3. NessieMonster

    1 September 2014 at 05:31

    Man, that sounds rough! Good luck unpacking.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      1 September 2014 at 09:20

      Thanks! That’s gonna be a new nightmare!

      Like

       
      • NessieMonster

        1 September 2014 at 12:21

        Ugh, yeah. I have moved house every year for the last 7 years and it is such a hassle. And that’s without furniture to move as well!

        Like

         
  4. Olly

    1 September 2014 at 14:24

    Moving house is the worst. I know we have to move at some point because 1.5bedrooms is just not enough but I keep putting it off every time I remember the hell we went through last time. Glad you survived! Hope Zane is ok.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice πŸŽ‰

23 year old real estate agent & swinger πŸ’‹

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

undermounted

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

