RSS

Okay, I’m Back…

08 Sep

It’s been one hell of a week… or thereabouts.  We were barely over our “injuries” incurred during the move (never did find the Ben-Gay) when we turned to the task of unpacking everything and finding a place for it, which called for more boxes to be lifted and toted and, well, shit, putting it where we wanted it.  I had to rebuild Linda’s desk because when we took it apart for the move, the bottom panel just fucking broke; the good thing was that it’s a Sauder desk and very much under warranty.  Linda called them and they shipped out another bottom panel.

I remember putting it together when she first got it – and it was a bitch because it’s big and heavy… but putting it back together was strangely easier, not that my body would readily agree to this assessment.  Somewhere along the line, I hyperextended my left knee, making walking even harder than it already is for me and while it was easy for me to get on the floor – and I had to – getting back up wasn’t my idea of fun.

Putting my desk back together wasn’t fun – it’s never fun when you have to remember where all those fucking wires get connected to and, yep, having to get on the floor under the desk to route power cords to the surge protectors.  My left knee filed for divorce and my right leg, which doesn’t like me much these days, filed a suit against me for unnecessary abuse.  I mean, we really didn’t have much of a reprieve because when we weren’t putting shit where it needed to be, we were running back and forth to the various stores in the area to buy food and other stuff found to be needed.  The good thing is there’s a shopping center less than a mile away… the bad thing was we were starting to feel as if we lived in our vehicle, going back and forth so much that it seemed like we’ve been doing this for years instead of a few short days and quite a few of our trips was back over to our old neighborhood.

Zane has been bugging the whole time.  We close our bedroom door to keep her out of the room while we sleep and she’s been pawing and scratching at the door trying to get in so she can hide out under the bed.  When she hasn’t been trying to break into the room, she roams around the place, checking out every little thing over and over as if it’s Day One for her being here… which it isn’t.  I know she needs to be reassured and all that and I’ve been trying to do this but given the way she keeps acting, I feel like I’ve been wasting my time petting and talking to her.  Maybe she’s pissed because we got some… devices to keep her off the new furniture?  We got them all hooked up and laid them on the furniture, turned them on, and went to bed; not two minutes later, I heard one of them emit a very loud “beep” – yeah, the nosy hussy couldn’t wait to check them out and I just wish I had seen her reaction when that fucker sounded off.

God, just so much to do when you’re trying to settle in!  We finally got the keys to our mailbox – which has the wrong apartment number on it – and it was jammed full of mail… and there wasn’t much of it that was actually ours – I think I’ve seen four or five different names on some of the mail with our address on it and if nothing else, it’s a pain in the ass.  We had to get maintenance in here to fix the shit we noted when we moved in – and there’s still a couple of things outstanding; we asked for the exterminator to be sent in because we can’t seem to use the bathrooms without various spiders paying unwanted visits, like the one that had been dangling over my head while I sat on the throne; fortunately for me – but not for the spider – it didn’t land on me but, yeah, I saw the motherfucker and now there’s one less spider around here.

Just when we thought we’d have a little break, something else had to be done, like installing the alarm system and, oh, yeah, taking out the trash.  You know, our doctor’s always telling us that we need to get more exercise and I gotta tell you – taking out the trash and getting the mail requires quite a bit of walking.  You know it’s pretty fucked up when you have to load up the truck with recyclable stuff and drive to the recycle dumpster.  Linda had to rearrange all of the stuff in the kitchen and more so after a can of cranberry juice concentrate fell off the self in the pantry, hit the fire extinguisher, and pretty much exploded, sending cranberry juice all over the pantry, all over me and, as I learned later, all over the refrigerator!

Installing the alarm system wasn’t as easy as advertised but a call to the company helped with that… except I didn’t find out until today that I should have labeled all of the sensors by location so we’d know which one was open – and all of this to get a chime to sound when a sensor got tripped – ooh, yeah, that was fun… not.  Errand after errand seemed to pile up on us and, yeah, some of it was our own fault because we’d both forget to pick something up while we were out, only remembering that we should have done it after we got back home… and we still have some address changes to take care of.

I know getting settled is a process… but damn!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 8 September 2014 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Okay, I’m Back…

  1. 'Tis

    8 September 2014 at 17:28

    welcome back! 🙂

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      8 September 2014 at 17:45

      Thanks – it’s been rough trying to get back to ‘normal’

      Like

       
      • 'Tis

        8 September 2014 at 18:05

        I understand. I used to have the moves down like nobody’s business back when my husband was in the service. But now??? Ugh, I can’t even imagine…

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        8 September 2014 at 21:27

        I don’t know what’s worse – packing, moving, or unpacking. The plan we put in place worked to perfection and that’s important since no plan survives contact win the enemy, to use a military saying. Ours did… But our bodies? They took a beating and it continued after all the stuff – and the cat – was moved because that shit wasn’t going to unpack itself and get into the right places.

        I’m glad it’s over… but getting settled is a bitch.

        Like

         
  2. disconcerted72

    9 September 2014 at 00:22

    Welcome back. Moving is never fun.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

