RSS

TMI Tuesday – Sex: Then and Now

10 Nov

I’ve decided to tackle this Tuesday’s offering!

1. Do you think sex is less important after age 50? Why or why not?

I think sex is just as important after age 50 as it is when you first started having sex.  It’s part of the human condition and while we often try to downplay its importance to our physical and mental health, yeah, sex is still important.  If you’re hooked up with someone (married or otherwise) it tells them that you still love them, that your desire for them is unwavering and unflagging and, seriously, that you’re gonna continue to be intimate with them no matter what being over 50 brings to the table… because that’s the way it’s supposed to be until you can’t do it (read this as you’re no longer breathing).

2. Were you ever squeamish about sex? At what age (or age range)?

Oh, hell, no!  I think that because I started having sex at a very young age, any squeamishness got shoved aside by my rather exuberant desire to do more of that thing I wasn’t supposed to be doing.

3. When did you quit being squeamish and start to relax and enjoy sex?

As with #2, since I lacked hesitancy when it came to sex, I was able to relax and enjoy sex early on.  Sex is fun and my young mind figured out early on that if you weren’t going to have fun doing it, why bother to do it?

4. What is sex worth to you?

I’m not sure what this question is asking.  There are some things I won’t do for the sake of sex and, really, if sex has a “price” or something else that equates to worth, then perhaps there’s something wrong with the way one thinks about sex.  It is said that we all pay for sex in some way or another and I guess there’s still a lot of truth to this.  I’ve heard and have even known people who have said or demonstrated that they will do anything for sex, that’s there’s no limit to how aggressively they’d pursue sex and, yes, I’ve known people to go through a bunch of changes just for the chance to have sex, from altering their personality to totally debasing themselves; people have taken lives for the sake of sex.  For me, sex is a “valuable” and necessary thing but for me to ascribe some sense of worth doesn’t make much sense since I know that there are times when sex isn’t worth the price you might have to pay in that moment or later on.

5. What do you seek in exchange for sex?

From a man’s point of view, this is a really weird question and more so since it’s been my experience that we, as men, have to be able to offer women something in exchange for sex and, as such, it tends to put us (and me) in the position where it’s not about what we want in exchange for sex – it’s what we’re willing to do for sex and, just like #4, the butcher’s bill can be quite high because what we might have to do to get sex isn’t what I’d call consistent and that’s because of something else we all learn in this:  Women are really funny about sex and to the point where we are expected, required, and demanded to do stuff to get sex (and we might not get it even if we did it) and we find ourselves in the position of having to beg or otherwise barter to get in between those legs.  It sucks that we go about sex like this, that we have put a price – literally and figuratively – on sex and a price that, sometimes, cannot be met or equalled.

6. Is your sex life better or worse now vs. five years ago? Why?

A little of both because even when you’re over 50, life can still pretty much fuck up your sex life, from health issues to just being too busy trying to keep the wolves away from your door – you still have to find the time and have the motivation to have sex and more so when a lot of things are ‘conspiring’ against you and your partner to keep you from having it.

7. Would you answer your mobile phone (a call or text) if it rang/dinged while you were having sex?

Well, since my mobile phone stays in another room that has the door closed (because we have a nosy cat), if it rang, I’d never hear it and, besides, I wouldn’t answer it.  Now, having said that, there was a time when I had to – my job required almost constant access to me so I was never really “off duty” – but now?  I’m retired and of the mind that if it was really that important, they’ll call back later, leave me a message, or correctly guess that I’m getting laid so since the bed is rockin’, don’t come knockin’…

Bonus: What is the one thing you wish your love interest understood about you?

That my love and desire for her has few boundaries…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 10 November 2014 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “TMI Tuesday – Sex: Then and Now

  1. Jessica Rabbit

    11 November 2014 at 02:52

    Beautiful bonus answer! XO

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

Apparently I Don't Exist

The Many Adventures of a Bisexual Genderqueer

foreverdreamingoflove

WARNING **This Blog Is For Mature Audiences OVER THE AGE OF 18**

