RSS

Dental Update!

23 May

It’s now been 18 days since I had my bad teeth removed in preparation to getting dentures and the good news is that my dentist peeked in my mouth the other day and pronounced that everything is going very well; I’ll go back next month and, hopefully, everything will be healed up enough so the molding process for my new teeth can begin.

At this moment, yeah, I can’t exactly eat the way I used to… but I’m far from starving; my teeth may be gone but my appetite (and love for food) hasn’t gone anywhere!  I’m still on a soft food diet and until I eventually get my dentures, that’ll be the case until my gums have “toughened up” enough to tackle certain things, like the fried chicken I am so desperately craving.  But, as I’ve been advised, the only way I’m gonna find out what I can easily eat and what I can’t is to try to eat it… and you can believe that I’ve been doing just that; yesterday – and with the help of a knife and fork (Linda said that made me eat in a prissy way), I demolished a bacon and egg Hot Pocket and, yeah, I had to laugh at myself for a moment because I really did  pick it up and try to bite it normally… like that was gonna work.  We had tacos for dinner the other night – I had the soft shells, of course, and, yep, I figured out a way to bite the shit out them even though I eventually had to cut them up – but I had to try.

Emotionally, this isn’t fucking with me too much; I’m not hiding from people or refraining from being out in public without any teeth. If anything’s “bothering” me, it’s the way my face feels now; the muscles in my face don’t seem to know what to do now that there are no teeth to get in the way of closing my mouth – my jaw muscles have been pitching a bitch.  The thing that’s cracking me up is that it seems that I have more saliva in my mouth than ever before – and I have no idea what’s going on here but I have to be conscious about drooling all over the place.  I’m healed up enough to use a soft toothbrush to brush my gums – that feels really good – but, yeah, I catch myself looking at myself in the mirror and making faces a lot and it’s hard not to just bust a gut laughing about it because I just look a little weird – but not too much, I think.

So, emotionally, I’m in a very good place… other than being impatient; I’ve promised myself that when I get my dentures, I’m going to Popeye’s and get myself a bucket of spicy, crunchy chicken… and eat the whole damn thing because I gotta make up for lost time.  Because Linda used to work in a dental office, I’ve been getting schooled on how to care for my dentures, what stuff works to hold them in place (and what doesn’t work) and other things I need to know and I give her such big props for supporting me through this.  She’s making sure that I’m eating as right as I can – and we both get to laughing when she says that I must have some meat and protein in my diet… and she knows that I just can’t wait to suck a dick without any teeth being in the way.  I know that when we were in the supermarket earlier, people were giving us weird looks when Linda said, “You know you like meat!” and we were both cracking up over the private joke.

Laughing about all of this is way better than feeling sorry for myself or otherwise worrying about shit.  I’ve got a damned good dentist and getting all the support I can have from Linda and my mother and, well, it just doesn’t get any better than that; it keeps me in a very good mental place… but I will still kill to get some fried chicken right about now even though I know I’m not ready for that.  Ah, but tonight?  I’ll be testing the waters yet again because we got some nice Atlantic cod filets and some “fish and chips” batter so if I can handle this fairly well, ya mon, it’ll get me another step closer to wreaking havoc on some fried chicken and other things I’d normally eat.

I  keep cracking myself up because I’ve got a “serious” lisp when I’m talking and it’s even funnier because my mom doesn’t think I sound any different – but I can hear it; I figure that I’m not really helping my jaw muscles or my tongue a whole lot trying to speak without the lisp… but even trying to do that is funny as hell.  I guess the only thing about this process that has my attention is waiting for the eventual bone spurs to make themselves known and, with some luck, I can get them out without my dentist going in there after them;  I really like her… but I don’t like her that much and I really don’t wanna know what she might have to do to remove them if I can’t get them out.

My friends, this has been an experience – and one I hope that none of you have to experience but I’m also sharing this with you to let you know that if you do ever wind up needing dentures, don’t let it fuck with your head;  this isn’t about looking good as much as it is about having a healthy mouth and, yeah, being able to keep on eating because that food thing, well, there’s just no getting around that, is there?  Needing dentures, well, it happens to some of us and, honestly, there’s nothing to be ashamed of; if you spend time fretting over how you got to this point, you’re not helping yourself any.  The absolute fucked up thing?  Needing dentures for your continued health… and not being able to get them because, sheesh, they ain’t exactly what I’d call affordable and especially if you’re on a fixed income or a tight budget.  Having some dental insurance is helpful and all I’m going to say about that is you really don’t want to know what this would have cost if I didn’t have insurance – and I still needed Linda’s help to make this happen (thank you again, baby!).

Even with something as “traumatic” as needing to have your teeth replaced for any reason, it’s easier on the mind if you can just keep finding the humor that’s present – keep laughing and don’t spend any time “crying” about it.  Now… if only I can stop having dreams of not being able to get my dentures out so I can clean them!  A few nights ago, I had a dream that I had my dentures, everything was all nice and cool… and I sneezed… and my dentures flew out of my mouth even though I had them “glued” in.  I don’t know where my subconscious is getting this shit from but even this keeps me (and Linda) laughing…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 23 May 2015 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Dental Update!

  1. iamsunnyd

    24 May 2015 at 13:26

    Surprised that your sharing something personal as this seeing how appearance is such a big deal in this era. Glad that your are affected by this and are embracing it!

    My mouth doesn’t like her teeth so she doesn’t wear them. Idk her choice.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      24 May 2015 at 13:40

      Yeah, people are so hung up on appearances and just have a “thing” about someone having good teeth… but my mind doesn’t work like that; I figure that if my having dentures makes someone uncomfortable, that’s their problem and not mine because I gotta do what I have to do for my own health so, yep, I’m not only gonna embrace it, I’m gonna own it big time.

      To me, this isn’t personal; hell, I write about my sexual adventures and they can be considered to be more personal than having to get dentures, right? Nah, this is just another aspect of life itself; something like this might not happen to everyone but it does happen – and for the sake of one’s health, it has to happen – your teeth go bad and keeping them can kill you (or make you wish you wish you were dead) so I share the experience.

      I care about how I look to others… but not so much that I’m gonna feel some kind of way about needing dentures – it is what it is, Sunny; when it comes to my health,vanity has to take a back seat…

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

