RSS

Life with Dentures

12 Nov

So, it’s been two months since I got my dentures and it’s been interesting.   They say that when you get them, you can go back to eating and speaking “normally…” but it’s not quite the same.

Of course, I’ve been biting the living hell out of my bottom lip and the insides of my mouth; I’m learning that some foods require some finesse to eat, like tomatoes, raw onions, and pickles.  Normally, your teeth give you feedback when you bite something but that feedback with dentures is very different; even tasting things seem different.

Let’s talk denture adhesives for a moment, shall we?  I learned the hard way (read this as both dentures came loose when biting a piece of fried chicken) that Polident doesn’t hold well for me so I use Fixodent “True Feel” which, honestly, isn’t as true as they say but it holds and seals like a motherfucker and so well that I often have a bitch of a time getting them out at night… but the fun is just beginning.

After I get them out, now I gotta get the stuff off of my gums and I can’t open my mouth and see it – I have to feel for it with my tongue and then try to scrape it into a ball so I can get a grip on it and pull it out; think of very tacky and sticky glue.  I’ve learned that if I wet my finger with warm water, that helps but, eh, not always; it takes me longer to get that stuff out of my mouth than it does taking my dentures out!

The things that bug me are (1) after a few hours, my mouth gets tired; I find myself biting down on them a lot during the day and as if I’m subconsciously worried about them staying put, although the people who make Fixodent suggests biting down and swallowing before speaking… but it’s tiring and it tends to give me a headache.  For (2), as the day wears on, the cushioning effect starts to wear off and, fuck, that just makes my mouth hurt!  It’s funny… I get up in the morning and I can’t wait to put them in but by dinner time, I can’t wait to get them out!

And once they’re out and safely put away and cleaning – and I’ve got the goop out – wow, my gums feel like I scrubbed them with coarse grit sandpaper… and a quick rinse with Listerine feels so good… no, it really doesn’t; now it feels as if I traded the sandpaper for napalm and I’ve often found myself dancing a jig as the Listerine does its thing.

*Sigh* I know I’ve got a lot of adjusting to do.  The upside is that my mouth is healthy and many folks have been complimenting me on how nice they look and, yeah, I actually enjoy smiling again – think of that “doggy denture” commmerical; Linda cracks up every time I smile which makes me smile even more.

A couple of nights ago, I was getting ready for bed and thinking about anything I may have forgotten and nothing came to mind until I licked my lips – something I do a lot more of these days – and my tongue scraped across my teeth:  They were so comfortable that I forgot I still had them in!  Along with almost constantly licking my lips, holy crap, my mouth is so dammed dry!  It makes me drink more water – a good thing – but when I walk, I can feel and hear the water sloshing with every step – not a cool feeling at all.

But that’s better than having to worry about the dangers bad teeth presents any day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 12 November 2015 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Life with Dentures

  1. iamsunnyd

    13 November 2015 at 19:24

    I know this has been a journey for you but now I understand why my mother won’t wear hers. She doesn’t want to deal with all that.

    Thank you for sharing though.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      13 November 2015 at 19:26

      Tell your mom that I said it’s a necessary evil!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

