RSS

Today’s Bisexual Thoughts: It’s Not THAT Complicated

09 Dec

I just got finished reading this pice of writing sent to me by my still unnamed friend – http://www.slate.com/blogs/outward/2014/03/28/bisexuality_it_s_really_not_that_complicated.html – and it was pretty decent although I wouldn’t have said it quite that way… but I will say it like this:

Bisexuals, once they’ve gotten their heads around this, understand that being bisexual or even acting like one isn’t all that complicated – we like men and women emotionally, physically, or both and even if we’ve never had the sex that’s possible.  However, those folks who aren’t bisexual do make it complicated because they don’t understand it like we do.  Because homosexuality is becoming more acceptable as a sexual identity, we have the straight folks on one side and the gay folks on the other, secure in their monosexual schools of thought but trying to deal with a group of people who are of both schools – and this apparently doesn’t make a lot of sense to them.

Their lack of understanding has given rise to the stereotype that we should do things equally since we’re “in the middle of things,” which really isn’t the case and they’d know this if they just stopped assuming things and put more effort into finding bisexuals who are willing to explain a few things to them.  Now, that’s a problem all by itself, right?  We’re so shrouded in our cloaks of mystery that it’s no wonder why other folks are assuming things… but, I’ll just mention – again – something I witnessed and sometimes experienced when growing up, that being, um, some folks just don’t take kindly to anyone who even remotely resembles being homosexual and uses violence to voice their displeasure.  And that behavior hasn’t changed over all of my years and while the kind of violence I saw has abated, the verbal lambasting is still going strong.

No surprise as to why bisexuals around the globe won’t stand up and scream, “Here we are!” is there?

The referenced writing mentions and proposes that bisexuality isn’t seen as an identity because people pay more attention to what we might do more than the way we think – but we’re action-oriented, aren’t we?  If you believe that actions always speaks louder than words, it’s no wonder people don’t think of bisexuality as an identity and more so when not all bisexuals act.  Kinda hard to quantify feelings and it’s even harder to do it when you have no real idea of what those feelings are since, in theory, you don’t really believe that someone can actually feel this way… or, um, maybe you do but have severely suppressed them?  That’s another topic for a later date, methinks…

Y’all know I’m bisexual and you know my thoughts about this at both a high and personal level.  I’m not a “typical” bisexual by any definition… but my sexuality identity is bisexual because I not only act like one, it’s how I think and feel.  I could bore you to death explaining how my mind works – but I’m not gonna do that so let it suffice to say that what goes on in my head that can’t ever be written is bisexual in nature.  Not exactly heterosexual.  Not exactly homosexual.

Heterosexuality can be “normalized” as can homosexuality – bisexuality, eh, not so much because we just don’t fit the generally accepted description of either identity; like I always say, we are both… and neither, even if you can only pay attention to what we do – duh.  And even if we’re not doing anything.  The relationship card gets pulled and, well, I’ve written a lot of shit about this but, briefly, a relationship cannot define or explain anything in this:  I’m married to one hell of a woman and I’m still as bisexual as ever.  Even way back in the day when I was in a “relationship” with my gay Air Force roommate, I was still bisexual.  I even had to listen to him demanding that I pick his side and stop “ruining” myself with those damned women and their smelly pussies… and that was in the early 1970s, folks.

It really isn’t as complicated as you might think.  I can’t put it any simpler:  Not everyone is straight or gay that is a fact and an obvious one, I think.  If you can accept this – this, too, isn’t complicated – then now it’s about the details and they are not the same for all of us because you just cannot and should not judge us by our actions alone or assume that we are acting at all.  If you can understand that being bisexual isn’t all about fucking, then this should be less complicated and, yes, if you wanna know the other stuff, ask a bisexual – just do not waste your time getting answers from someone who isn’t (and never will or would become) bisexual.  You just wouldn’t go to a nuclear physicist and ask him how to do a triple bypass, would you?

if you don’t know why I do the things I do, you don’t know anything – and knowing why is at the root of the bisexual identity and makes all of this uncomplicated.  Analyzing our actions or looking at bisexuality with a monosexual mindset will not provide clarity.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 9 December 2015 in Today's Bisexual Thoughts

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Today’s Bisexual Thoughts: It’s Not THAT Complicated

  1. acquiescent72

    9 December 2015 at 14:50

    It’s the overthinking that has gotten to me on more than one occasion, that’s for sure. Granted, I have not been very open about my sexuality so I have not experienced a lot of the problems that others have faced.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      9 December 2015 at 14:55

      When one is trying to wrap their heads around their bisexual feelings, overthinking is almost a given and is understandable but one you accept that, okay, I’m bisexual, it stops being complicated as far as identity goes; what you do or don’t do afterward is another kettle of fish.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • acquiescent72

        9 December 2015 at 14:56

        True dat!

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        9 December 2015 at 15:00

        The problems we all face as part of this bisexual erasure thing is that some straight and gay folks can’t wrap their heads around why someone would want to be involved with men AND women… and that’s scary if they can’t see or understand the obvious thing here. How we are bisexual differs, which makes sense because we have different tastes and desires but, at a high level of thought, nah, this isn’t complicated… but they create the erasure issue by overcomplicating something that is kinda simple.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. rougedmount

    20 December 2015 at 07:06

    …quite frankly, the fact that you are so self aware…so absolutely understanding of your sexual nature, probably upsets more people than accepting the idea of being bisexual. Sexuality is on a bell curve and a sliding scale. Very few people are on extreme sides. Most slide, especially if they are blessed with a long life. Yet so many people hide what excites them, so many refuse to accept their attraction to the same sex, that they vocally oppose it when others state their preferences. They live a lie. And they do not want to admit to others what they can not admit to themselves. You are fortunate that you simply get to experience pleasure and excitement when you are attracted to someone. I think it’s convenient and quite possibly ideal. I think bisexuality is actually the ‘real normal’ as opposed to what we are conditioned to accept as a heterosexual majority. life would be so much simpler if people stopped trying to force others into their version of sexual acceptance.

    Like

     
  3. BLake

    27 April 2016 at 11:18

    ” I’m not a “typical” bisexual by any definition”

    What does that mean? I’d be very interested to know the details.

    “Even way back in the day when I was in a “relationship””

    “relationship”?

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

