RSS

Today’s Bisexual Thoughts: The Bro-Job

30 Jan

I shouldn’t have to explain what this means but, just in case, this is “simply” one of those situations where two guys decide to hand out blowjobs but, uh, supposedly, they’re both straight.  I invite you to check out this article, provided to me by Cityman, who is the guy I’ve been communicating with (and having fun doing it):  http://instinctmagazine.com/post/straight%c2%a0guys-are-giving-“bro-jobs”-and-hooking-using-new-app

I read the article and found it amusing that a woman had set out to prove something that men have always known about but probably would never admit to.  The comments to the article were equally amusing and not unexpected; the prevailing thoughts here are that if you’re straight – but you will let a guy suck your cock or you’re willing to suck his – then you’re not as straight as you believe yourself to be.  It’s a sentiment I happen to agree with but I also understand the mindset taking place with all of this and it’s a mindset that is, in and of itself, an act of denial as well as one that provides plausible justification for two straight dudes to blow the hell out of each other but retain their masculinity and without ever having to apply the bisexual or – gasp – the heteroflexible label.

But the “bro-job” isn’t new; I was giving them as far back as the 1970s (and getting them, too).  What is interesting about this coming up now is that men have been slowly but surely changing the way they look at something as “simple” as getting their dick sucked; as I’ve written in the past, giving another man a blowjob and even laying some pipe is no longer being seen as a gay or “bitch” thing to do.  Indeed, if you’re not down with it, your masculinity could be called into question; instead of being a punk-assed bitch for wanting to suck cock or take one in the ass, you could be labeled one for not being man enough to throw down like this.  They are discovering something I’ve known all along: Sucking dick or even being fucked has no bearing on how you view your masculinity and, oh, yeah, doing it doesn’t necessarily make you gay because, duh, you don’t have to be a gay man to suck cock; I love doing it and I know good and damned well that I’m not gay, so there you go.

Cityman identified a few things about this and along the lines of how something that so unthinkable could happen between straight men and they are – and I quote him directly here:

  • The opportunistic blow ‘n go between buddies doing each other a quick favor
  • The drunk/high surrender to bicurious lust
  • The bros before hoes thug mentality
  • The unmistakable need for bisexual engagement – in other words, the conscious choice to fulfill one’s inborn preferences

I happen to agree with this 100%; he’s pretty much hit the nail spot-on.  Cityman went on to say, “What they all have in common, to varying degrees, is this:  If society’s rules were different, dicks would be getting sucked left and right.  If they could get away with it, they would.”  Again, I agree with his assessment but, um, they can and do get away with it because it’s always been possible even though society’s rules tries to make it impossible by slapping the taboo label on.  I said to Cityman that if I were straight but I wanted to suck a guy’s dick – and for whatever reason why I’d want to do that – the last thing I’m gonna give a fuck about is what the rules have to say about it; what I do need is for the other guy to agree to the proposition and if he does, it’s a sure bet he’s not giving a fuck about those rules either.

And now there’s an app for that?  Why am I not surprised?  You see, the biggest problem isn’t that straight dudes want to suck cock or whatever; the problem is finding like-minded straight dudes who wouldn’t mind a “bro-job” one bit and, again, it doesn’t really matter why he’d want one outside of the fact that getting your dick sucked is a damned good thing.  The thing about this that went through my mind was how many gay men are going to get this app so they can get some of this action themselves?

This isn’t an issue of sexuality as much as it is about men being opportunistic and an increasing willingness to “take advantage” of a situation if and when it presents itself.  The guys I’ve given “bro-jobs” to have pretty much universally said that as long as no one finds out about it, why the fuck not?  At the end of the day, it’s about image and one’s rep and it just wouldn’t do for a guy who is well-known to be as straight as the proverbial arrow any even “publicly homophobic” to let it ever be known that a dude cleaned his pipes or, horrors of horrors, he did some pipe-cleaning as well.  As I’ve also written about, I have sat and listened to guys rant and rave against any kind of sex with a man while in public but privately?  I’ve had some pretty good sex with those same guys and you can pick any of the four assessments provided by Cityman for the reason why.

Consider this, if you will.  You know what a “bromance” is, right?  Well, take that to the next logical step and maybe the “bro-job” will make more sense.  I wouldn’t dare say that this next step is always taken – I’m just the one who will tell you that the groundwork for it to happen has been laid down and all that’s needed is a triggering event to set the “bro-job” in motion… and it really doesn’t take a whole lot to trigger it.  One’s current relationship status has no bearing on this either; just because “Hank” is getting his share of pussy doesn’t mean that he wouldn’t be down for a “bro-job.”  Simply, all it would take is for “Hank” to want to bust a nut and he’s not keen about spanking the monkey and there’s no “immediate” female resolution available, well, that and the bro he’s with saying, in effect, “Sure, bro – I’ll help you if you’ll help me, aight?”  And as long as no one else finds out about it – and that’s akin to cutting off your nose to spite your face – dicks will get sucked and, yes, maybe asses will get fucked.

Why?  Because it can be done.  It has always been done.  It’s being done right now so it is more than reasonable to assume that it will continue to be done but now, it’s all coming to the surface instead of staying off the social radar.  While questioning the sexuality of a guy willing to do the “bro-job” thing appears to be in order, at the end of the day – or, after the “bro-job,” if you will – all that matters is what the participants think and feel about their sexuality.  If “Hank” and “Jeff” “bro-job” each other and still insist that they’re straight, well, they can do that and even if they keep right on doing that.  The thing about this that always gets me laughing is that men who will, in fact, do this seem to believe that just because it’s not something they’d do all of the time, it doesn’t make them bi or gay and especially since they spend more time getting pussy.  What they don’t understand – or perhaps don’t want to understand – is that frequency has nothing to do with it… but the fact that you will do it at all does matter.  It’s not about percentages, like, “Hank” might admit that 99% of the time he’s “all about the ladies” and that slim 1% might involve a gratuitous “bro-job,”dude, you’re not straight, just predominately so; on the Kinsey scale, “Hank” would be what Cityman and I call a “K1,” where K0 is totally straight and K6 is totally gay.

The thing is that there is zero shame in this even though it’s pretty much a given that a lot of shame will be heaped onto the “bro-job” before too long.  The attitudes about men having sex with other men has been changing all along and the social resistance to this inevitable change is still there but weakening every single time a “bro-job” is offered and accepted.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 30 January 2016 in Today's Bisexual Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Today’s Bisexual Thoughts: The Bro-Job

  1. acquiescent72

    30 January 2016 at 20:41

    Hahaha! Great post and I have always agreed. Straight guys have zero interaction with other guys. There is just this idea that men are somehow less manly if they receive a blow job from a guy. Granted, I have struggled with the concept, myself, although I have never been turned on by the idea of my cock in a man’s mouth…but having a cock in mine is awesome (Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being blown by a woman). And I struggled, forever assuming that made me less masculine. I’ve come to accept, however, that when I am with a guy, I prefer the less-than-masculine stereotype, but my overall demeanor and persona is masculune.

    Great post…very thought provoking.

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      30 January 2016 at 22:37

      It always comes down to personal preference, like giving instead of receiving, of course, but the thing that interests me the most about this is that there are more men who understand that you can have oral sex (or whatever) with another guy – and your closet, bestest bud works wonderfully for this – and it can have zero impact on one’s masculinity.

      And if you can do it without having to relabel yourself, sure, why not? I’ve said that humans can justify anything they do, even if that justification only makes sense to them so if “Hank” believes that giving his bro “Jeff” some head and that it would be beneficial to “Jeff” in some way – and “Jeff” isn’t going to put it on Facebook or Twitter, why not? Even if the justification for “Hank” is, “I’ve always wondered what it would be like…”

      Guys get drunk/high, they get horny, and waiting for a babe to slake that lust upon ain’t gonna happen when it needs to happen; libidos soar, inhibitions get removed, et voila – a bro-job happens.

      I just don’t think this is all that unusual or anything new under the sun. It wasn’t new when I participated in them back in the 70s; back then it was just “helping a brother/friend out with something.”

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

