RSS

Explained Absence

16 Mar

I can explain why I haven’t been around lately with one word:  Brochitis.  I can count on one hand the times I’ve had bronchitis in my life and it happens so infrequently that I forget how totally fucked up it is to find myself trying to cough up everything that I own.  At first, I managed to catch the cold Linda had; she got better, I went straight downhill, from blowing my nose so much I went through two boxes of tissues in a single day… to doing my best to cough up my nuts and anything else the coughing could shake loose.  I wound up going to a med unit – it was closer than traveling the two miles to our doctor’s office, got into a bit of a pissing contest with the PA that eventually saw me, but walked out with an antibiotic and cough syrup that, eventually got rid of the worse of my symptoms.

Having the symptoms is bad enough for me; worse is actually getting better.  In the last week (and not counting last night), I’ve gotten a grand total of maybe ten hours of sleep because my body wants to keep coughing up stuff; it was getting so bad that I’d wind up getting out of bed and trying to sleep on the sofa just trying not to disturb Linda’s sleep anymore than I already had.  It didn’t help that if I wasn’t waking myself up coughing, I’d have our cat, Zane, lying and snoozing on my chest and stomach; the first night, I felt something heavy on my chest, it was hard to breathe and I needed to hack up the phlegm in a bad way.  I opened my eyes… and there’s our gray eyed cat staring at me all up close and personal – and not of a mind to move despite my efforts to sit up.  If she wasn’t on my chest, she was camped out on my legs/feet, making eh effort to sit up and spit out the gunk… interesting.  I guess that after getting cussed out a few time, Zane decided it was best to sleep anywhere but on me.

Being ill, I’ve not been motivated to write and I’ve barely managed to stay current with those of you I follow and, honestly, after finally getting eight hours of uninterrupted sleep, today’s the best I’ve felt in a while.  It hasn’t been without its funny moments, like the day I got up and washed and went to put my teeth in; I thought I had gotten them glued in properly so you can imagine my surprise when I coughed and both dentures flew out of my mouth and into the sink!

Today’s like maybe the third time since I got sick that I’ve had my dentures in, having learned that there’s a trick to spitting while wearing dentures.  My mom suggested that I take a spoonful of honey to combat the cough that cough syrup can’t touch… except I hate the taste of honey and while it did help a little, having all that honey sitting in my stomach – and not dissolved in a cup of Tazo’s Passion tea, made me feel worse with an upset stomach on top of a killer headache from all the damned coughing.  In the last week or so, I’ve been spitting gunk into one of those red cups to keep from hurting myself trying to get to one of the bathrooms; I’ve gone from half filling the cup during the day, washing it out, and half filling it at night to just having had to spit twice today… and that I still have my nuts makes me a very happy camper… but there were moments when I was sure I’d already hacked them up along with my lungs, liver, and at least one kidney.

My daughter, bless her heart, got in my ass over not getting a flu shot, pointing out to me that I’m not a young man anymore (like I needed her to remind me of that) and she wasn’t happy that I did get a pneumonia shot, which is what really worried me since I’ve had that before; it’s been over twenty years since I last had the flu – and I got it the only time I got the flu shot.  But I knew I didn’t have the flu, nor did I have pneumonia… but bronchitis?  Yeah, didn’t need a doctor (or a pissed off PA) to tell me that and, honestly?  I’d rather have the flu…

I hopeful get back into the blog groove soon; I just wanted y’all to know what’s been going on that would explain my absence, okay?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 16 March 2016 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Explained Absence

  1. The Woman Invisible

    16 March 2016 at 17:38

    Feel better darling! I missed you!

    Like

     
  2. slave tasha

    16 March 2016 at 23:17

    Get well soon! 💜

    Like

     
  3. Ann St. Vincent

    17 March 2016 at 08:16

    Sorry you’ve been sick 😦
    I write this from my bed, with me and my son having the stomach flu. Sucks.

    Like

     
  4. The Likkleone

    17 March 2016 at 22:19

    Hope you’re feeling better.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • kdaddy23

      17 March 2016 at 22:29

      I’m getting there, thanks! All this coughing is giving me mad stupid headaches…

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • The Likkleone

        17 March 2016 at 22:38

        Ugh, any illness that involves coughing and/or vomiting is the worst!!

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        17 March 2016 at 23:13

        And, sadly, I’ve done both during this illness; it’s been a long couple of weeks for me.

        Like

         
      • The Likkleone

        17 March 2016 at 23:37

        Ugh. Hopefully the road to recovery is nice and short!

        Like

         
      • kdaddy23

        17 March 2016 at 23:58

        *Sigh* – it’s been two weeks since I first got sick and it certainly hasn’t been nice. I felt great yesterday, felt I’d finally turned the corner… and woke up this morning – and after lots of headache-producing coughing – feeling like crap again.

        But thanks again; no one should ever get bronchitis except maybe my worst enemy of all time…

        Like

         
      • The Likkleone

        18 March 2016 at 01:42

        Being sick sucks – especially when it just won’t go away.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

undermounted

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

