RSS

An Update, of Sorts

01 Feb

I had my followup exam after my last surgical procedure and things are looking good but I was impressed because I learned that instead of having my original device removed and replaced, a second device was added and because I had what’s known as an endoleak, a condition that doesn’t happen very often with endograft devices but when they do, it can be minor – no intervention just monitoring – or enough to warrant a fix, you know, just to be on the safe side and the fix can be either a traditional AAA repair or the placement of a second endograft device to reinforce the original device and stop an endoleak.

Not saying that changes in the structure of my arteries wouldn’t happen and cause another leak but the proactive thing is to check me again in six months to confirm no leaks, proper placement and, importantly, that the second device isn’t blocking or restricting blood flow to other areas.  Hopefully, I won’t spring another leak; I’m thinking if I do, I’d be looking at a traditional repair that’s gonna be very invasive and lay me up in the hospital for a week rather than a day or so… a prospect I’m not exactly looking forward to but since I’ve got this urge to keep living, if we gotta go there, we’re going there and judiciously take advantage of the marvelous pain medications available in the hospital.

Getting opened up isn’t my biggest dread – a week of hospital food is and the possibility that I’ll wind up with another troubled roommate like I did the last time and one that’ll deprive me of much needed healing sleep; I won’t get into the details but trust when I say that my last hospital stay was anything but pleasant.

So how am I feeling?  I actually don’t feel any different from when I had the first device implanted outside of my usual aches and pains, like hurting the top of my bad right foot and it taking almost two weeks to heal up on its own and straining a few muscles fixing the new damage that fucking squirrel caused.  My doctor did tell me that this repair might make my butt hurt when I walk and stop hurting when I stopped walking – similar to having peripheral artery disease but I don’t actually have it; the repair was extended downward enough that it was possible but, nah, my butt is just fine when I walk.  I did have an issue with the right-side incision; where it was made caused it to rub and get inflamed like a boil but that’s gotten better over time – it was more annoying than a major problem.

So there you have it!  Yeah, I feel kinda weird knowing I’m sporting two endografts and while I understand the necessity of having two, I gotta remember to ask my doctor when I see him in July just how he managed to get the second device inside the first; obviously, it can be done but the details kinda fascinates me – yup, I’m just nerdy like that.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 1 February 2017 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

Apparently I Don't Exist

The Many Adventures of a Bisexual Genderqueer

foreverdreamingoflove

WARNING **This Blog Is For Mature Audiences OVER THE AGE OF 18**

