RSS

Diary of George and Melissa

08 Dec

For quite some time now, I’ve been getting bombarded by Travelling’s posts on George and Melissa and I thought that it was pretty damned cool that a blogger I’m following has written a book around his blog’s topics so last night, before I went to bed, I went to Amazon and got a copy of it, my mind already salivating over what I just knew was going to be a good book about a somewhat controversial topic.

And I hate to say this but it just wasn’t all that well-written and, to be honest, I was disappointed to see all of the spelling and grammatical errors in the book and to read how contradictory, inconsistent, and disjointed the book was.  The sex scenes were steamy but the other things I just mentioned took away some of the heat of the sex being described.

There were things happening in the book here and there that just didn’t make a lot of sense to me.  Early on in the reading, George and Melissa are doing their first MFM and she bade her hubby to suck the guy’s cock – and he just did it like he was an old pro at it and his only ‘complaint’ was that the guy’s cock didn’t taste as he had expected it to.  I thought, “Okay, had I written this part, I would have at least said a little something about how George felt about being ordered to suck another man’s dick – it would, if anything else, speak to whether or not he actually had any experience or desires to do this…”  But, of course, I didn’t write the book and, Travelling, I was really trying to read this book as a lover of books and not an author.

And it was damned hard to do.  In another part of the book, George and Melissa are into another threesome and, by this time, it’s clear that George is being cuckolded; the other guy had expressed a desire to play with another man’s cock and while I didn’t find that to be all that unusual, what did have me going back to the first threesome was George’s behavior when the guy started messing with him and, oh, yeah, the fact that he had the exact same comment about sucking the other guy’s dick as he did the first time this appeared in the book.

In the beginning of the book, George says that his wife was a virgin when he met her but, later, we find that a boyfriend she had before she met George had gotten a good piece of that nooky.  I was saddened to see this faux pax and, at this point I was ready to stop reading the book and delete it from my Kindle library with the slight regret that I bought it.  When Melissa was getting it on with a woman for the first time, wow, that was really weird.  I mean, I could understand how she wound up in bed with the neighbor… but the way she reacted to this just puzzled me and even more so when her and George did the pastor’s wife again – why do something when there was so much uncertainty about doing it before it happened?  And, given the circumstances under which the second encounter took place, I found myself saying, “There’s no fucking way I would have let this take place with a suspicious husband lurking in the background…”

The book just didn’t flow cleanly, going from a first-person perspective – as if George was telling the story – to a more ‘narrative’ kind of joint, you know, as if someone else was telling George and Melissa’s story and, often, this happened right in the middle of the two of them talking about something.  It actually had me going back a few pages because I just knew that I had missed something important, only to find out that I hadn’t missed a thing – the passage just wasn’t all that well-written and it caused a disconnect.

By the time I finished the book, I was feeling kinda bad about how I felt about the book and the person who wrote it.  I expected better; I expected to see a broader picture of how a married couple can go from “keeping only unto yourself” to “Hey, let’s add some folks to the party!”

Now, I don’t want anyone to misunderstand – I give anyone who writes a book big time props for doing it because I know how hard it is to do it and that they got their work out there to be read is a good thing and more so since I’ve had it in my mind to do some major for-money publishing of my more recent works… and haven’t gotten around to doing it yet.

I got to thinking, while watching it snow like a bitch, that reading the other books in this series might clear things up… but after reading this one, I’m not sure I want to read them because of the chance that they, too, may be as poorly written as this book was and I’m not just talking about the plot and the character development; whoever proofread this for errors and continuity just didn’t do a good job of it and because they didn’t, it makes the book hard to read and understand, let alone enjoy.

It pains me to say that I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone… and I wish I could get my money back.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 8 December 2013 in Life, Living and Loving

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Diary of George and Melissa

  1. cinfulcinnamon

    8 December 2013 at 19:46

    YOU need to write one. Or another one. We know that all the boxes for grammar, content, spelling and plain hawtness would be ticked. I’d buy it ! Then again, I’d also want a personally autographed and cum stained copy ! LOL

    Like

     
    • kdaddy23

      8 December 2013 at 21:52

      Yeah, I’ve put this off for too long…

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Jenny's Swinger Party and Dating Advice 🎉

23 year old real estate agent & swinger 💋

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

"Me."

All the things that make me, well "me."

CinnamonAndSparkles

If I had a power color, it would be sparkle. Landon Brinkley

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sexual Adventures & Erotica of a Cougar

Tarnished Soul

Searching for Peace in a Tumultuous World

Temperature's Rising

It's getting hot in here...

A Question of Lust

"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Madeline Harper

ReImagined

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

Equal Anarchy

Equality, Gender, Feminism, Sexuality

Sensual Desires

Sensual Poetry

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

B0Y . LU5T

Coming to terms with being male, atheist, married, over 40, bisexual, kinky and blurring the lines of monogamy while living in a conservative "red state" .

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

Date A Bisexual

DateBisexual.net

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

myarousal

Fetishes, Gender Issues, Sexual Politics, Erotic Memoirs

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

ann st vincent

My journey through marriage, open marriage, divorce, being a Mom, sexual rebirth, online dating, failed relationships, and lots of sex

The Conquest Files

"The truth is rarely pure and never simple." - Oscar Wilde

More Is Merrier

Views on consensual non-monogamy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life, sexually and in every other way!

Assentively Yours

Ramblings of a depressed mind and other nuances.

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.com)

Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained

Roller Coaster Life of a Fat Girl

Highs and Lows of My Weight Loss Journey

smallpenisbigissues

when and why size matters

rouge

I write when the choice is to die if I don't

My SEXuality

Why am I afraid to tell you who I'am?

Confessions of a Cheating Housewife

...because love just isn't enough ;)

