RSS

Living With… Stuff: 09 April 24

09 Apr

Met with my oncologist’s PA yesterday and she’s happy with my progress and after looking in my mouth and palpitating my neck (her hands were cold!) there’s some redness in my mouth that’s expected and she can’t feel anything in my neck that doesn’t belong there. They’ve scheduled me for the blood work and scans that I’m hoping and praying reveals that I’m cancer-free.

Later in the day, I had a video call with my palliative doctor and we talked about possible solutions to the pain in my feet due to neuropathy; the transdermal patch I’m currently wearing doesn’t seem to be doing a whole lot and I don’t feel like “investing” in the next highest dose and he agrees that if it’s not feeling better at the current dosage, the next highest won’t make much of a difference.

He did toss out the methadone option again and one that I’m trying to avoid because I’ve basically “just” gotten back on my feet (and literally) and anything stronger like methadone or, gasp, .50mcg of transdermal fentanyl would likely get the job done… by making me so stoned that I don’t know I’m in pain and essentially taking me back off my feet and unable to do much of anything. Been there, didn’t like it, and it’ll be a measure of last resort if the pain in my feet escalates to the point where I really can’t take it anymore.

So to avoid any withdrawal symptoms, he’s stepping me down to the .5 mcg patch even though we’re both of a mind that I could take this patch off and not experience any withdrawal symptoms that I couldn’t deal with – you should try coming down off of fentanyl so the patch can’t possibly be that bad. Now we get to the latest thing:

I’ve been tasting something acidic in my mouth that’s been setting my mouth – and, specifically, the right side of my tongue – on fire and I mean that shit hurts like nothing I’ve experienced so far. I have suspected it’s part of the reason why I have the magic mouthwash that has an antacid in it and the “acid” is a byproduct of my throat healing from the ass-kicking that it got from radiation. It makes sense given the PA did say there was still some redness at the back of my mouth/throat and it’s possible that my saliva hasn’t mysteriously turned seriously acidic but that’s how my poor brain is interpreting what I’m tasting.

She – the PA – said that it’s likely that the nerves in my tongue are healing, hence the pain I’m feeling and while I can take a shot of magic mouthwash for a bit of temporary relief, it’s yet another of those things I’ve experienced along this journey where there’s not a whole lot that can be done about it – and I just have to grin and bear it and… fuck, refill the script for more magic mouthwash – better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.

We talked about my appetite which, as far as I was concerned, was quite good – except for when I couldn’t taste anything – but now that I can taste, I have incentive to eat and I’m doing my best to pack it away as best I can or until I manage to piss my throat off, which invariably happens. Been writing down what I’m eating, how much I’ve eaten, and the calories consumed – and I decided to create an Excel spreadsheet to do this and so some fancy formulas and other stuff I learned to do with Excel. I have the tools, might as well put them to use.

I still have an issue tasting salt, something the PA said makes me a little weird because other patients dealing with this loss of taste report that they can taste salty stuff but not sweet stuff – and I can taste sweet stuff just fine. And I’m reminded that as my sense of taste recovers, things might taste weird to me, like I had some sauteed spinach with garlic that… didn’t taste like sauteed spinach with garlic and the reason why it didn’t was it didn’t have any salt; a tiny dash of salt on it made it taste better but until I can really taste salt, I should not be adding it to ,whatever I’m eating lest I piss off my blood pressure which has been doing just fine with only a very low dose of medication.

So many post-treatment appointments to keep track of and my lady’s been handling them for me although I need to opt for redundancy and put them into my phone’s calendar as well since we’ll go to an appointment and someone will ask what’s a good day for my next appointment and… there’s nothing in my phone so, yeah, gotta do something about that.

And keep a copy of my current meds on my phone, too, since they love to ask me if there are any changes to them; I know there isn’t anything new but it would help to be able to pull it up on my phone. I have to put a call into the ENT’s office to let him know that the course of steroids he gave me for the fluid in my left ear… hasn’t done anything, which means he’s gonna want to put tubes in my ear or maybe both of them and, yeah, I’m so looking forward to that.

Not. All of this keeps reminding me that having cancer, while not a good thing to find out, isn’t the hard part: It’s all the stuff you gotta do and go through when being treated for it – and even after all the treatments are over and done with. It’s also why I am hoping and praying that the cancer is gone and stays gone… because I don’t think I can handle having to go through all of this again.

Which means that if I have to, I’m going to because not doing it doesn’t make sense and if I don’t like going through stuff now, I’m really not going to like it if we have to reinvent the wheel on this – I just gotta do it and at this point in time, I don’t want to have to do this again. This is about settling in for the long haul – the five-year plan the team has committed themselves to in order to deal with me and in whatever way is needed – and I’m committed to hanging in there with them.

I have some weird shit going on with my right shoulder and collarbone area that might be due to radiation-caused nerve damage that may have cause muscle atrophy in that area; getting a scan to take a better look and I need to talk to the radiation folks to see what they have to say about it; the PA took a look and she’d be interested in what the scan I’m getting has to reveal although she seems sure that it’s not something that chemo caused and, sadly, I’m not much help because what I know is that it wasn’t like this before I went into the hospital.

So, we will see whatever there is to see with all of this stuff. One thing at a time, one day at a time…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 9 April 2024 in Living With... Stuff

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Living With… Stuff: 09 April 24

  1. LarryArcher

    9 April 2024 at 08:30

    One foot in front of the other and as my Dad always says, “When you hit a wall, back up and hit it harder!”

    Liked by 2 people

     
  2. LarryArcher

    9 April 2024 at 12:57

    I grew up in a bizarre family, my Dad is a welder and my Mom is a shrink. Talk about opposite ends of the spectrum. Plus this was in Texas, not the most progressive state.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • kdaddy23

      10 April 2024 at 11:01

      You should try having a nurse for a mom; couldn’t fake being sick to miss school!

      Liked by 2 people

       
  3. DD788Snipe

    19 April 2024 at 17:56

    That is weird that you can taste sweet and not salty. I was a chocoholic and when I lost the ability to taste anything sweet it devastated me. As far as salty some of the premade soups tasted so salty to me I couldn’t eat them yet the DW said she couldn’t taste the salt. My sweet taste has somewhat returned over the years but I don’t salt anything. That taste is still hyper sensitive.

    Like

     
  4. kdaddy23

    19 April 2024 at 18:29

    My ability to taste salty has returned but, as I was told, things can taste funny until my taste buds get their act together. Losing the ability to taste was very devastating and more so when I was being “pressured” to eat and, okay, if I can’t taste it, what’s the point in trying to eat it? Not being able to taste anything makes whatever you might try to eat have a very unpleasant mouth feel and I still remember trying to drink a Boost and not being able to taste it almost made me want to throw up due to how weird it felt in my mouth.

    I hadn’t realized that I’d lost my sense of taste until I made a pot of chicken noodle soup and it didn’t taste like I added any salt to it. Later when me and my lady were eating it, I mentioned that I didn’t think the soup had enough salt in it and she said that it had the right amount of salt and… uh-oh.

    I haven’t cooked since that day because of the “danger” of over-salting the food and because I couldn’t taste salty. I was just eating some potato chips and I could taste the salt…

    Like

     

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

 
Tha jay way

Making peace with being misunderstood

Bisexual Journey

A chronicle of a man's journey into bisexual experiences, with some stories of fantasy inspired by true life experiences

Am I Gay?

Lgbtq+

Double Bi

Too much bi for one person...

A Negrita's Narrative

Welcome to my crazy, fucked up life.

As I see it...

The blog that was

The Three of Us: Kit, Kitten, and Kitty

This blog is mostly about personal growth. It’s random and it’s ever changing.

Corrupting Mrs Jones

Often unfiltered thoughts.

Gemma - Journey of Self discovery

So, I've been spanked, hard! I have spanked myself hard, I have spanked others even harder! I'm now heading for a different road, one that still includes all the best bits of me, all the naughty bits, all the hot steamy bits, and plenty of spanking still to be had! But this time I'm creating characters to play out my delightful erotic fantasies, I hope you enjoy the new ride as much as the previous one...

Marla's World

Sporadic randomness from a disheveled mind.

Miss D

My BDSM adventures and accounts as a kinky sadomasochist

The Middle-Aged Bisexual

Struggling with my bisexuality in a heterosexual relationship

waterboundgirl.wordpress.com/

A Submissive Journey

Binerd88

Musings & Interests of a Bisexual Man

wildwestangel.wordpress.com/

A journey into surrender

Finding Strength in my Submission

A space to share my authentic self (mature audiences only, NSFW)

Katya Evangeline

From Missionary to Sex Preacher and Loving It!

Domestic Discipline, Jenny style!

Unconventional journey to unimaginable fulfillment.

Life

by Hannah

Hopeful Heartache

Ramblings about life, relationships, anxiety, depression, and questions.

SeXXy Julie

Sordid Sex Stories & Erotica of a Cougar

Temperature's Rising

Still hot. (It just comes in flashes now.)

Bellaelena

Random thoughts from a random mind

thewritingofpassage

Writing about recovery.

Wake Up- Get Up- Stand up

"We the People" need to stand together.

The Watering Hole

Where everyone comes to quench their thirst for insight to life's challenging questions.

afortnightaway

Parts Of My Life

ophisophia

The Wise Serpent

a worried whimsy

bouncing between happy and anxious

The Self-Actualized Life

Have a fulfilling life sexually and every other way!

Larry Archer's World (LarryArcher.blog)

------ Erotica from the dirty mind of Larry Archer

theopenwife

is there a path to a successful open marriage?

thesinofindia

The silent inside of an anonymous Indian rebelling against society

The (Bi)te

The uninteresting world of a young bisexual girl

The Bi-Love-Ed RESEARCHER

What Perspective Matters Most Depends on Your Perception

Kittykat-bitsandbobs

Just my random thoughts and meanderings... I'll try to keep you entertained